Art De La Guerre
Bienvenue sur le forum de discussion de la règle de jeu l'Art De La Guerre
 
FAQFAQ RechercherRechercher Liste des MembresListe des Membres Groupes d'utilisateursGroupes d'utilisateurs S'enregistrerS'enregistrer
ProfilProfil Se connecter pour vérifier ses messages privésSe connecter pour vérifier ses messages privés ConnexionConnexion
Continuing a charge - pursuing evaders
Page 1 sur 1
Poster un nouveau sujet   Répondre au sujet
 Art De La Guerre Index du Forum > Rules question V4
Auteur Message
Neep
Signifer


Inscrit le: 09 Jan 2023
Messages: 321
MessagePosté le: Sam Juin 21, 2025 5:14 pm    Sujet du message: Continuing a charge - pursuing evaders Répondre en citant
A line of 3 impetuous Cv makes an ordered attack on an evasion-capable enemy. The central Cv will make contact. The enemy evades. Are the flank Cv units, which would give support if contact was made, mandated to continue their charge?
(Granted you probably want to keep the Cv together anyway, regardless of the direction the enemy evades.)


Dernière édition par Neep le Sam Juin 21, 2025 7:35 pm; édité 1 fois
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé
Mark G Fry
Légat


Inscrit le: 15 Juin 2017
Messages: 586
Localisation: Bristol, UK
MessagePosté le: Sam Juin 21, 2025 7:32 pm    Sujet du message: Répondre en citant
Have you declared a charge with all 3 or just the one that could make contact?
If you don't declare all three charging at the start the sequence is as follows:

1) the unit with the LC in charge range is ordered to charge.
2) the enemy LC declares an evade & evades
3) the unit that was ordered to charge dices to see how far they will charge (& might charge long)
4) then you either order the other two units to move (as there is no unit now to charge) or you leave them where they are as there is no obligatory charge (as there is no target)
Of course if the charging unit charges long the other two wont be able to move up in line with it anyway

The HC must all be ordered to charge, as all 3 would touch the enemy LC - or you could order the central 1 and leave the other 2 to either be ordered into line, as two separate orders or charges, or make an uncontrolled charge into support if the LC stands - but I cannot really see the benefit in that approach.

Or

1) you declare a charge with all 3 units
2) the LC evades
3) you dice to see how far all 3 units charge

Or
1) you don't order a charge with any of the 3 units, but the HC facing the LC must make an obligatory uncontrolled charge, but only at the very end of other ordered movement.
2) the LC evades
3) you dice for how far the uncontrolled charge moves
4) as uncontrolled charges are made in a sequence, not simultaneously, the moment the LC evades from 1 uncontrolled charge, the other 2 HC have no target (unless it is to their flanks) so will remain stationary.

That's my 3pence worth (in pre-decimal UK coinage)
_________________
'He could have lived a risk-free, moneyed life, but he preferred to whittle away his fortune on warfare.' Xenophon, The Anabasis
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé
Neep
Signifer


Inscrit le: 09 Jan 2023
Messages: 321
MessagePosté le: Sam Juin 21, 2025 7:43 pm    Sujet du message: Répondre en citant
Sorry, yes it is an ordered group charge. (I've revised the OP.) The issue is whether the flank units in position to provide support are therefore "pursuing evaders". I think the answer is yes but I'm not certain.
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé
vexillia
Centurion


Inscrit le: 21 Nov 2017
Messages: 426
Localisation: Nantwich, UK
MessagePosté le: Sam Juin 21, 2025 9:15 pm    Sujet du message: Répondre en citant
Neep a écrit:
A line of 3 impetuous Cv makes an ordered attack on an evasion-capable enemy. The central Cv will make contact. The enemy evades. Are the flank Cv units, which would give support if contact was made, mandated to continue their charge?


Covered in a thread from Wed Jun 11, 2025 4:18 am Post subject: Continuing a charge - exceptions which you participated in.

vexillia a écrit:
This previous discussion from Oct 2023 may help as might these diagrams from my blog:






_________________
Martin Stephenson

Subscribe via email or rss.
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé Visiter le site web de l'utilisateur
Neep
Signifer


Inscrit le: 09 Jan 2023
Messages: 321
MessagePosté le: Sam Juin 21, 2025 9:39 pm    Sujet du message: Répondre en citant
Yes, thanks Martin. I see you feel potential support must chase evaders.

BTW I disagree with your first slide. If none evade, then there is no minimum charge distance set. (section 5 goes straight to section 8).
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé
vexillia
Centurion


Inscrit le: 21 Nov 2017
Messages: 426
Localisation: Nantwich, UK
MessagePosté le: Dim Juin 22, 2025 7:38 am    Sujet du message: Répondre en citant
Neep a écrit:
BTW I disagree with your first slide. If none evade, then there is no minimum charge distance set. (section 5 goes straight to section Cool.

Look more carefully. It does not say this. There is an option to continue to the minimum distance.
_________________
Martin Stephenson

Subscribe via email or rss.
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé Visiter le site web de l'utilisateur
Neep
Signifer


Inscrit le: 09 Jan 2023
Messages: 321
MessagePosté le: Dim Juin 22, 2025 2:17 pm    Sujet du message: Répondre en citant
It says "Minimal optional advance", which I think most readers would see as precluding an advance less than that.
Just trying to be helpful.
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé
vexillia
Centurion


Inscrit le: 21 Nov 2017
Messages: 426
Localisation: Nantwich, UK
MessagePosté le: Dim Juin 22, 2025 3:21 pm    Sujet du message: Répondre en citant
Rubbish! It says "Option to continue charge". Rolling Eyes
_________________
Martin Stephenson

Subscribe via email or rss.
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé Visiter le site web de l'utilisateur
  
 Art De La Guerre Index du Forum > Rules question V4
Page 1 sur 1
Poster un nouveau sujet   Répondre au sujet Toutes les heures sont au format GMT

 
Sauter vers:  
Vous ne pouvez pas poster de nouveaux sujets dans ce forum
Vous ne pouvez pas répondre aux sujets dans ce forum
Vous ne pouvez pas éditer vos messages dans ce forum
Vous ne pouvez pas supprimer vos messages dans ce forum
Vous ne pouvez pas voter dans les sondages de ce forum