Art De La Guerre
Bienvenue sur le forum de discussion de la règle de jeu l'Art De La Guerre
 
FAQFAQ RechercherRechercher Liste des MembresListe des Membres Groupes d'utilisateursGroupes d'utilisateurs S'enregistrerS'enregistrer
ProfilProfil Se connecter pour vérifier ses messages privésSe connecter pour vérifier ses messages privés ConnexionConnexion
Commander in ambush
Page 1 sur 4 Aller à la page 1, 2, 3, 4  Suivante
Poster un nouveau sujet   Répondre au sujet
 Art De La Guerre Index du Forum > Rules question V4
Auteur Message
pichuleante
Javelinier


Inscrit le: 25 Fév 2016
Messages: 13
MessagePosté le: Lun Sep 29, 2025 4:22 pm    Sujet du message: Commander in ambush Répondre en citant
One tricky question.

If a commander (not the c in c) is in ambush and not visible, how can you determine where his visible units can deploy?

Do you measure the command range from the ambush marker?
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé
lionelrus
Magister Militum


Inscrit le: 21 Mar 2009
Messages: 4865
Localisation: paris
MessagePosté le: Lun Sep 29, 2025 5:15 pm    Sujet du message: Répondre en citant
pichuleante a écrit:
One tricky question.

If a commander (not the c in c) is in ambush and not visible, how can you determine where his visible units can deploy?

Do you measure the command range from the ambush marker?


J'attend toujours:
1) de voir ceci en tournoi (cacher le général et montrer les troupes)
2) qu'on m'explique l'intérêt de cette tactique.
_________________
"Quand on a pas de technique, faut y aller à la zob"
Perceval à Yvain et Gauvain.
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé
pichuleante
Javelinier


Inscrit le: 25 Fév 2016
Messages: 13
MessagePosté le: Lun Sep 29, 2025 5:45 pm    Sujet du message: Répondre en citant
I mean, in the rulebook it says you can ambush a commander, but not the c in c

If you do so. The commander is hidden and in his group of command there are several units some in ambush with the commander and some other visible.

How do you determine if the visible units are in range of command to deply them?
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé
pichuleante
Javelinier


Inscrit le: 25 Fév 2016
Messages: 13
MessagePosté le: Mar Sep 30, 2025 7:43 am    Sujet du message: Répondre en citant
lionelrus a écrit:
pichuleante a écrit:
One tricky question.

If a commander (not the c in c) is in ambush and not visible, how can you determine where his visible units can deploy?

Do you measure the command range from the ambush marker?


J'attend toujours:
1) de voir ceci en tournoi (cacher le général et montrer les troupes)
2) qu'on m'explique l'intérêt de cette tactique.


I'll put you and example, imagine you are defender and have a plantation in a flank sector near the center of the table and you decide to ambush 4 heavy cavalries and the commander is included in one of them.

If the command group is composed i.e. 4 hcv + 2 LH, where can you deploy the 2 LH visible in range of command if the commander is not visible?
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé
Andy Fyfe
Légionaire


Inscrit le: 14 Fév 2024
Messages: 121
MessagePosté le: Mar Sep 30, 2025 8:40 am    Sujet du message: Répondre en citant
pichuleante a écrit:
lionelrus a écrit:
pichuleante a écrit:
One tricky question.

If a commander (not the c in c) is in ambush and not visible, how can you determine where his visible units can deploy?

Do you measure the command range from the ambush marker?


J'attend toujours:
1) de voir ceci en tournoi (cacher le général et montrer les troupes)
2) qu'on m'explique l'intérêt de cette tactique.


I'll put you and example, imagine you are defender and have a plantation in a flank sector near the center of the table and you decide to ambush 4 heavy cavalries and the commander is included in one of them.

If the command group is composed i.e. 4 hcv + 2 LH, where can you deploy the 2 LH visible in range of command if the commander is not visible?


I would say that the commander counts as being on the ambush marker.

However, often the answer on these forums is very simplistic and based solely on the rules as written etc.

In that case the ruling would be that the commander is not on the table and therefore has no command range. So either you can't place any other units on the table or you can't chose to include the commander in the ambush.

Andy
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé
madaxeman
Magister Militum


Inscrit le: 01 Nov 2014
Messages: 1672
Localisation: Londres Centraal.
MessagePosté le: Mar Sep 30, 2025 9:44 am    Sujet du message: Répondre en citant
This is such a niche and unusual scenario that - as you have spotted - it's not really covered in the rulebook.

The approach of the author and rules team in such cases has generally been to not respond to such queries, and instead trust the two players to behave like responsible adults playing a game together for mutual enjoyment, and assume that the players will be capable of agreeing between themselves what to do if something which is too obscure to warrant inclusion in, or amendment of the rules does come up.

The alternative would be for the author and rules team to continually be issuing an endless stream of errata, amendments and additional rules in response to every hyper-niche, theoretical, never-seen scenario - many of which are conjured up by those who lurk in the dark corners of the internet with nothing better to do with their time than read wargames rules looking for obscure ways to pick holes in them.

Authors trying to contort their prose to cover every imaginable tabletop scenario, and trying to instantly respond to every query is an approach which has ruined many an otherwise popular and successful ruleset over the years, so the approach of treating us all like consenting adults and leaving the hyper-niche unlikely-to-happen stuff largely unanswered is, on balance, probably for the best...
_________________
www.madaxeman.com
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé Visiter le site web de l'utilisateur
lionelrus
Magister Militum


Inscrit le: 21 Mar 2009
Messages: 4865
Localisation: paris
MessagePosté le: Mar Sep 30, 2025 10:52 am    Sujet du message: Répondre en citant
madaxeman a écrit:
This is such a niche and unusual scenario that - as you have spotted - it's not really covered in the rulebook.

The approach of the author and rules team in such cases has generally been to not respond to such queries, and instead trust the two players to behave like responsible adults playing a game together for mutual enjoyment, and assume that the players will be capable of agreeing between themselves what to do if something which is too obscure to warrant inclusion in, or amendment of the rules does come up.

The alternative would be for the author and rules team to continually be issuing an endless stream of errata, amendments and additional rules in response to every hyper-niche, theoretical, never-seen scenario - many of which are conjured up by those who lurk in the dark corners of the internet with nothing better to do with their time than read wargames rules looking for obscure ways to pick holes in them.

Authors trying to contort their prose to cover every imaginable tabletop scenario, and trying to instantly respond to every query is an approach which has ruined many an otherwise popular and successful ruleset over the years, so the approach of treating us all like consenting adults and leaving the hyper-niche unlikely-to-happen stuff largely unanswered is, on balance, probably for the best...


I agree with Tim's answer.
I can add "et en tournoi, il y a un arbitre pour traiter les cas tordus, improbables et impossibles".
_________________
"Quand on a pas de technique, faut y aller à la zob"
Perceval à Yvain et Gauvain.
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé
Ramses II
Magister Militum


Inscrit le: 17 Juil 2015
Messages: 1278
Localisation: London
MessagePosté le: Mar Sep 30, 2025 2:02 pm    Sujet du message: Répondre en citant
As others have said, this is very niche, though even more so than apparent. 

P77 in placing the units in ambush state
Citation:
 All units of the ambush must form a valid group and must be inside the terrain or out of sight of the enemy at the start of its movement.


I would suggest that the commander can only be placed in ambush if all the units of the corps are in the same ambush. In this case the commander must be with the group, though does not count towards the ambush restrictions.  

Personally, I would require the commander to be on table if there are LH (or other units) on the table. By  placing the commander on table, these units can be seen to be in command  range etc.    

This also removes problems with revealing the commander and his properties. 
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé
Neep
Signifer


Inscrit le: 09 Jan 2023
Messages: 368
MessagePosté le: Mar Sep 30, 2025 2:41 pm    Sujet du message: Répondre en citant
Let's not surrender to negativity. This question has been raised twice before. But search seems broken, probably because the forum needs re-indexing. Maybe someone could take a break from manning the barricades and do some maintenance?

MAdlGGA!
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé
Mike Bennett
Légat


Inscrit le: 11 Nov 2017
Messages: 599
Localisation: Carnforth, Lancashire, UK
MessagePosté le: Mer Oct 01, 2025 11:44 am    Sujet du message: Répondre en citant
Ramses II a écrit:

….
I would suggest that the commander can only be placed in ambush if all the units of the corps are in the same ambush. In this case the commander must be with the group, though does not count towards the ambush restrictions.  

Personally, I would require the commander to be on table if there are LH (or other units) on the table. By  placing the commander on table, these units can be seen to be in command  range etc. 


For an included general that would be less reasonable than for a free standing one.
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé
navigator
Auxiliaire


Inscrit le: 09 Sep 2018
Messages: 91
Localisation: robin hoods bay UK
MessagePosté le: Mer Oct 01, 2025 4:22 pm    Sujet du message: Répondre en citant
id refer you to the game etiquette page on p11.. it has a solution for all anomalies
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé
Ramses II
Magister Militum


Inscrit le: 17 Juil 2015
Messages: 1278
Localisation: London
MessagePosté le: Mer Oct 01, 2025 5:30 pm    Sujet du message: Répondre en citant
Mike Bennett a écrit:
Ramses II a écrit:

….
I would suggest that the commander can only be placed in ambush if all the units of the corps are in the same ambush. In this case the commander must be with the group, though does not count towards the ambush restrictions.  

Personally, I would require the commander to be on table if there are LH (or other units) on the table. By  placing the commander on table, these units can be seen to be in command  range etc. 


For an included general that would be less reasonable than for a free standing one.


Agreed that an included general is trickier, and when there are external units there are arguments both ways for allowing the general to be in the ambush or requiring it to be outside. 

For clarity and ‘fairness’, I still feel the included general should be outside if he commands other units outside. The intended use of ambushes forms part of the army design, which can take this question into account. As such, people submitting tournament lists could be warned of this restriction, though as Navigator suggests, a friendly solution is an obvious solution. 
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé
madaxeman
Magister Militum


Inscrit le: 01 Nov 2014
Messages: 1672
Localisation: Londres Centraal.
MessagePosté le: Mer Oct 01, 2025 5:33 pm    Sujet du message: Répondre en citant
Mike Bennett a écrit:
Ramses II a écrit:

….
I would suggest that the commander can only be placed in ambush if all the units of the corps are in the same ambush. In this case the commander must be with the group, though does not count towards the ambush restrictions.  

Personally, I would require the commander to be on table if there are LH (or other units) on the table. By  placing the commander on table, these units can be seen to be in command  range etc. 


For an included general that would be less reasonable than for a free standing one.


I'm not convinced that "more reasonable for an included general wishing to place himself in an ambush whilst also choosing to leave some of his other troops in the open" would be the basis for what is "more reasonable" in overall game terms.

- If the general is on table, then there is no debate and everything about this situation is already covered by the existing rules.
- If the general and all of his command are in ambush, then there is no debate and everything about this situation is already covered by the existing rules.
- If the general is in ambush, and also has troops visible on table then we're heading into uncharted territory, the resolution of which would require a number of entirely new rules to sort out.

Given the current deployment rules have been written to err on the side of simplicity (ie the idea of a "reserve" has been largely sacrificed in order to remove even the possibility of a "floating command"), I would hazard a guess that if a call were to be made then inconveniencing an included commander wishing to place themself in a very unusual situation in the hope of gaining a fairly dubious tactical advantage would be the one that loses out ...
_________________
www.madaxeman.com
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé Visiter le site web de l'utilisateur
Zoltan
Légat


Inscrit le: 18 Jan 2015
Messages: 521
Localisation: Wellington, New Zealand
MessagePosté le: Mer Oct 01, 2025 7:12 pm    Sujet du message: Répondre en citant
pichuleante a écrit:
One tricky question.

If a commander (not the c in c) is in ambush and not visible, how can you determine where his visible units can deploy?

Do you measure the command range from the ambush marker?


When deploying the visible units you must ensure that they are in command range of the position you (mentally) expect to deploy their ambushing commander. 

In effect, the location of the deployed visible units will “constrain†where you subsequently place the commander’s figure (or his unit if he is included) once the ambush is revealed.

You’d measure the command range from the visible units to a point that complies with the ambush deployment rules. That point is where you MUST deploy your commander figure (or unit if he is included).
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé
Ramses II
Magister Militum


Inscrit le: 17 Juil 2015
Messages: 1278
Localisation: London
MessagePosté le: Mer Oct 01, 2025 10:10 pm    Sujet du message: Répondre en citant
Zoltan a écrit:
When deploying the visible units you must ensure that they are in command range of the position you (mentally) expect to deploy their ambushing commander. 

In effect, the location of the deployed visible units will “constrain†where you subsequently place the commander’s figure . . . 


As Tim says, this approach opens a can of worms Eg, what if the unit with the included commander canny be legally deployed (rare I agree). 

Along with Tim and Lionelrus, I strongly suggest that a commander must be placed on table if he commands visible units.
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé
  
 Art De La Guerre Index du Forum > Rules question V4
Page 1 sur 4 Aller à la page 1, 2, 3, 4  Suivante
Poster un nouveau sujet   Répondre au sujet Toutes les heures sont au format GMT

 
Sauter vers:  
Vous ne pouvez pas poster de nouveaux sujets dans ce forum
Vous ne pouvez pas répondre aux sujets dans ce forum
Vous ne pouvez pas éditer vos messages dans ce forum
Vous ne pouvez pas supprimer vos messages dans ce forum
Vous ne pouvez pas voter dans les sondages de ce forum