Art De La Guerre
Bienvenue sur le forum de discussion de la règle de jeu l'Art De La Guerre
 
FAQFAQ RechercherRechercher Liste des MembresListe des Membres Groupes d'utilisateursGroupes d'utilisateurs S'enregistrerS'enregistrer
ProfilProfil Se connecter pour vérifier ses messages privésSe connecter pour vérifier ses messages privés ConnexionConnexion
Impetuous units and ambushes
Page 1 sur 1
Poster un nouveau sujet   Répondre au sujet
 Art De La Guerre Index du Forum > Rules question V4
Auteur Message
Andy Fyfe
Auxiliaire


Inscrit le: 14 Fév 2024
Messages: 91
MessagePosté le: Jeu Juil 03, 2025 10:14 pm    Sujet du message: Impetuous units and ambushes Répondre en citant
Hi Guys,

A situation arose in a game tonight.

There is an ambush marker in a field 2 UDs in front of a unit consisting of three LI in a line in front of three impetuous medium sword in a line.

The group is moved straight ahead to see if the ambush is real.

It is (a single LI is placed on the front of the ambush marker).

The discovering group can now move no further.

However, it has only advanced 1 UD which is therefore a short move for unmanoeuvreable troops.

How much does this movement cost; 1 CP or 2 CPs?

What happens if the moving player only has 1 CP left?

Andy
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé
KevinD
Légat


Inscrit le: 23 Aoû 2021
Messages: 670
Localisation: Texas
MessagePosté le: Jeu Juil 03, 2025 11:14 pm    Sujet du message: Répondre en citant
I think it’s only 1. They moved forward as far as they could.
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé
Neep
Signifer


Inscrit le: 09 Jan 2023
Messages: 324
MessagePosté le: Ven Juil 04, 2025 1:20 am    Sujet du message: Répondre en citant
It's a weird one. The rules discuss a "unit" so their application to a group has to be extrapolated.

But it's still a problem with a single unit. Suppose a single impetuous med sword unit advances 1 UD and triggers the ambush? It hasn't moved its full allowance and it hasn't made contact with the enemy. This means you do not know the CP cost until the move has been made, so you have to check the possible outcomes against the remaining CP balance.... This is not unprecedented as you must look at all possibilities when considering whether an impetuous unit is excepted from an uncontrolled charge by the possible evasion of its target. But there's no CP cost in that case.

Perhaps triggering an ambush is similar enough to ending in contact that the rule should be extended to encompass that.

You can get into similar situations with an unmaneuverable group charging an evasion-capable enemy if the terrain beyond the enemy is problematic.
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé
Hazelbark
Magister Militum


Inscrit le: 12 Nov 2014
Messages: 1673
MessagePosté le: Ven Juil 04, 2025 2:15 am    Sujet du message: Répondre en citant
What Kevin said.
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé
Andy Fyfe
Auxiliaire


Inscrit le: 14 Fév 2024
Messages: 91
MessagePosté le: Ven Juil 04, 2025 7:00 am    Sujet du message: Répondre en citant
Hazelbark a écrit:
What Kevin said.


Thank you guys.

1 CP is also what I said.
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé
  
 Art De La Guerre Index du Forum > Rules question V4
Page 1 sur 1
Poster un nouveau sujet   Répondre au sujet Toutes les heures sont au format GMT

 
Sauter vers:  
Vous ne pouvez pas poster de nouveaux sujets dans ce forum
Vous ne pouvez pas répondre aux sujets dans ce forum
Vous ne pouvez pas éditer vos messages dans ce forum
Vous ne pouvez pas supprimer vos messages dans ce forum
Vous ne pouvez pas voter dans les sondages de ce forum