|
Art De La Guerre
Bienvenue sur le forum de discussion de la règle de jeu l'Art De La Guerre
|
Art De La Guerre Index du Forum > Rules question V4
Auteur |
Message |
Mark G Fry
Légat

Inscrit le: 15 Juin 2017 Messages: 588
Localisation: Bristol, UK
|
Posté le: Mar Jan 14, 2025 10:34 am Sujet du message: WAR WAGONS - a few more questions ? |
|
Just to clarify a few (more) thing about WWgs
1). Page 67 states that WWgs can never be attacked in a flank or the rear, as all edges are considered as a front edge.
Q: does that mean that (in effect) WWgs have no flank or rear lines to cross - so a unit that is in front of one side of a WWg can move and hit it on another (as long as it has the movement distance and the ability to turn etc) with no restrictions?
2). Where an enemy unit deliberately charges into a position where it has an unengaged WWg on its own flank whilst fighting another enemy unit to its front, Page 61 (4th bullet) state that the WWg's effect will be the same as LI or LH or Artillery (e.g. no cohesion loss and simple support).
However, whilst Special Cases (Page 61) states that if this is the case that the attacking unit will fight as if it has been attacked in the Flank, Page 63 specifically precludes WWg having this effect - so WWg fighting on an enemy flank whilst the enemy is engaged frontally will not reduce the enemy to a '0' factor and will not cancel all 2HW, Impact, Javelin, Polearm, Furious Charge and Missile support effect.
Q: is this the correct reading of this?
Thanks
Mark _________________ 'He could have lived a risk-free, moneyed life, but he preferred to whittle away his fortune on warfare.' Xenophon, The Anabasis |
|
Revenir en haut de page |
|
|
SteveR
Signifer
Inscrit le: 21 Mar 2018 Messages: 381
|
Posté le: Mar Jan 14, 2025 2:40 pm Sujet du message: |
|
Hi Mark,
Regarding question 1 I think contact with a War Wagon is still a charge and not a move and so you cannot move from one side to contact another as a move. You must still follow the restrictions of a charge which has only a slide or wheel or turn followed by an optional wheel at the beginning.
Regarding question 2, I believe you are correct unless the War Wagon is bladed. |
|
Revenir en haut de page |
|
|
Mark G Fry
Légat

Inscrit le: 15 Juin 2017 Messages: 588
Localisation: Bristol, UK
|
Posté le: Mar Jan 14, 2025 4:10 pm Sujet du message: |
|
SteveR a écrit: | Hi Mark,
Regarding question 1 I think contact with a War Wagon is still a charge and not a move and so you cannot move from one side to contact another as a move. You must still follow the restrictions of a charge which has only a slide or wheel or turn followed by an optional wheel at the beginning.
Regarding question 2, I believe you are correct unless the War Wagon is bladed. |
Hi Steve - on Q2, the War Wagon with blades bit is a good caveat. I hardly ever play with that troop type, so tend to forget about it. Thanks
Q1. If we have a situation such as the diagram below, where the MF is the attacking enemy. It is not directly in front of the opposing WWg, but is not behind the flank lines of the WWg either (if the WWg were any other unit) but as the WWg has no flanks or rear, I dont think the flank or rear base edge lines apply.
However, with a wheel, the MF can charge the WWg and hit one of its short base edges.
The advantage being that the MF wouldn't then be subject to the WWg's internal overlap in the combat, if fighting against the WWgs long edge.
As all WWg base edges are its front edge, despite the MF starting where it does, it does not have to conform to the WWgs long side edge, as I see it.
So having worked this through, I think that any enemy (other than LI on its own) that is within charge range and complies with the slide/wheel or turn restrictions of a normal charge can ignore the flank or rear attack rules when charging a WWg.
------------ MF
WWgWWg <
But as always I am happy to be told I am wrong
Thanks
Mark _________________ 'He could have lived a risk-free, moneyed life, but he preferred to whittle away his fortune on warfare.' Xenophon, The Anabasis |
|
Revenir en haut de page |
|
|
SteveR
Signifer
Inscrit le: 21 Mar 2018 Messages: 381
|
Posté le: Mar Jan 14, 2025 8:37 pm Sujet du message: |
|
Hi Mark,
I think you are going a bit too far here. Let me make sure I understand your argument.
If I am correct you are saying that because War Wagons cannot be considered to have a flank edge when one fights them, that an opponent can ignore the contact restrictions on page 41
I do not agree. War Wagons may not be subject to flank attacks, but they still are facing in a given direction. I don't think anyone would argue that a War Wagon can move from any side or even just from either short side.
They may not have flanks for fighting purposes but surely they do for movement. And if they have a front edge, then the contact restrictions on page 41 should be applied
As such, if I am following your diagram correctly, if the War Wagons are facing to the left or the right look at the position of the Medium Foot front edge relative to the line extending the War Wagon front or rear edge to see where they may conform.
As I look at it the Medium Foot front edge is either partly to the rear of the line extending the rear edge and so may contact the (short) rear edge
If instead the War Wagons are facing to the right then the MF has its front edge partly in front of the line extending the front edge and so may contact the (short) front edge. |
|
Revenir en haut de page |
|
|
Mark G Fry
Légat

Inscrit le: 15 Juin 2017 Messages: 588
Localisation: Bristol, UK
|
Posté le: Mer Jan 15, 2025 11:18 am Sujet du message: |
|
SteveR a écrit: | Hi Mark,
> Hi Steve
I think you are going a bit too far here. Let me make sure I understand your argument.
If I am correct you are saying that because War Wagons cannot be considered to have a flank edge when one fights them, that an opponent can ignore the contact restrictions on page 41
> Yes - that is my supposition Steve
I do not agree. War Wagons may not be subject to flank attacks, but they still are facing in a given direction.
> True, but that is an irrelevance to an attacking unit and to the way that WWgs fight. Even if the WWg is 'battle-ready' that applies to combats on any of the 4 WWg base edges, not just the two long base edges, and this represents the WWg forming a protective laager with stakes & chains deployed on all 4 base edges.
I don't think anyone would argue that a War Wagon can move from any side or even just from either short side.
> True - and I am not arguing or disputing that, but according to the wording on P67 the WWg has no flank or rear base edges in combat.
They may not have flanks for fighting purposes but surely they do for movement. And if they have a front edge, then the contact restrictions on page 41 should be applied.
> Why? That creates a constraint on an attacker that means that they have to behave as if the WWg has flanks or rears, which it does not, and the rules clearly state that it does not.
As such, if I am following your diagram correctly, if the War Wagons are facing to the left or the right look at the position of the Medium Foot front edge relative to the line extending the War Wagon front or rear edge to see where they may conform.
> in my diagram - and it is unfortunate with diagrams like this that it is hard to demonstrate positions specifically - the MF unit is neither in front of the WWg's long base edge or the line extending from along the long edge out past the short base edge (marked with a <)
However, if we use the Types of Contact diagram on Page 41 as a proxy, this might make it clearer. By removing all attacking units except B1 (& the central red unit is the WWg). I would argue that unit B1 can attack the WWg on either of the two base edges it can hit as the flank, rear, front definitions do not apply to the WWg, represented by the red unit.
As I look at it the Medium Foot front edge is either partly to the rear of the line extending the rear edge and so may contact the (short) rear edge
If instead the War Wagons are facing to the right then the MF has its front edge partly in front of the line extending the front edge and so may contact the (short) front edge. |
Interesting points Steve - but I'd argue that the position of the MF is actually irrelevant, as the WWg does not exert a ZoC and the WWg is not within the MF's ZoC so the MF has complete freedom of movement. As no WWg base frontages are in front of the MF, it also avoids being subject to a 'most threatening enemy' issue as well (were it to apply, which it doesnt).
IMHO Page 67 War Wagons 1st bullet clearly state: "A WWg can never be attacked on its flank or rear as all edges are considered as a front edge for combat purposes."
Therefore, I'd argue that as a WWg has no flanks or rear attacking units don't have to comply with the ruling on page 41 about Flank or Rear.
A WWg may move from a specific short base edge - but this is not its only front edge, as defined by the statement on Page 67.
This might all seem like semantics but my example (updated below) gives an attacking player an option to avoid charging the WWg along its long front edge and therefore fighting at a disadvantage.
Even if the MF was slightly in front of the WWg's long side - as the WWg has no ZoC the most threatening enemy rule doesn't apply either.
That may not be the intention of the wording but that (appears to me) to be what is possible.
NB: the same could equally apply to the LH in the diagram below, (where the MF is fighting the WWg on its long base edge). The LH, would, with a turn, and assuming it was within range of the WWg short base edge (marked with a <) move to hit that base edge and provide support to the MF. Again, it is equally capable of charging the WWg on that short base edge (marked with a <) - IMHO. If it could not cross the (hypothetical) flank line it would only be able to move into simple support alongside the MF (corner to corner with the WWg) and that would not be classified as support to the MF.
--------------------------LH
--------MF
WWgWWg <
If the intention of the rules is to avoid something like the MF (or LH) being able to cross the (non-applicable) flank or rear lines of the WWg then it should be specific about it, and it is not, in fact it repeatedly states that WWg's have no flanks or rears.
In my original example, even giving WWg's a ZoC wouldn't help much, as the MF wouldn't be in the WWg's ZoC, if it had one.
Interesting ....... BTW I am with you on this, I think it is a 'tricksy' move, so it needs some sort of official ruling (if the right wording can be found) as we have two competitions coming up (Alicante and Beachhead) where there are going to potentially be a lot of WWgs in play
Cheers
Mark _________________ 'He could have lived a risk-free, moneyed life, but he preferred to whittle away his fortune on warfare.' Xenophon, The Anabasis |
|
Revenir en haut de page |
|
|
Andy Fyfe
Auxiliaire
Inscrit le: 14 Fév 2024 Messages: 89
|
Posté le: Mer Jan 15, 2025 12:00 pm Sujet du message: |
|
Hi Mark,
The WWG rules seem to be a little vague and spread across the rulebook.
If it helps I trawled through the rules and errata to list all of the rules and where they came from:
ADLG War Wagon notes (WWG = War Wagon / WWG(B) = War Wagon Blades)
WWG - Cancel Impact, Javelin and Furious charge of all enemies except elephants (p14)
WWG(B) - Cancel Impact, Javelin and Furious charge of all enemies (including elephants) (p14)
Battle Ready (p14)
Not WWG(B) or Mediocre WWG
1 CP cost (can combine with a quarter turn for +1 CP)
+1 in melee vs all enemies
1 CP to recover stakes / chains / mantlets (cannot move until recovered)
The enemy having WWG/WWG(B) is a condition for dismounting your mounted units (p21)
When carrying out a quarter turn can slide to left or right 1UD to make room for turn (single WWG or
group of two WWG maximum) (p32). Takes 2UD of movement to complete a quarter turn but only costs
1 CP (p35 and errata)
Can only make two multiple movements (p34)
Interpenetration by foot units over long edge (narrowest direction) only (p39)
All units can disengage from a WWG/WWG(B) (p40)
Conformation (p40):
WWG – Never conforms to enemy
WWG(B) – Conforms only when they charge or contact an enemy
Cannot be shifted to allow friendly confirmation (errata)
ZoC:
Does not exert a ZoC (p38)
Restricted by enemy ZoC (p38)
WWG/WWG(B) can never be attacked on flank or rear (all sides count as front)
Not subject to multiple attack
Long edge counts as having +1 simple support in melee
No melee support against a WWG/WWG(B) (units in melee support position count as simple support)
No corner to corner or flank to flank simple support against a WWG/WWG(B)
Only one unit attacks in the melee phase (phasing player picks which unit)
Routing WWG/WWG(B) do not cause loss to friendly units (p68)
Impetuous units do not have to pursue a WWG/WWG(B) (p69)
Cannot be part of an ambush (p77)
Cannot be part of a flank march (p79)
WWG(B) specific rules (errata):
Can make flank or rear attacks
Can count in multiple attacks
Does not conform if it’s in corner-to-corner or flank-to-flank contact with the enemy
Can conform for 1 CP |
|
Revenir en haut de page |
|
|
Mark G Fry
Légat

Inscrit le: 15 Juin 2017 Messages: 588
Localisation: Bristol, UK
|
Posté le: Mer Jan 15, 2025 12:19 pm Sujet du message: |
|
Andy Fyfe a écrit: | Hi Mark,
The WWG rules seem to be a little vague and spread across the rulebook.
If it helps I trawled through the rules and errata to list all of the rules and where they came from:
ADLG War Wagon notes (WWG = War Wagon / WWG(B) = War Wagon Blades)
WWG - Cancel Impact, Javelin and Furious charge of all enemies except elephants (p14)
WWG(B) - Cancel Impact, Javelin and Furious charge of all enemies (including elephants) (p14)
Battle Ready (p14)
Not WWG(B) or Mediocre WWG
1 CP cost (can combine with a quarter turn for +1 CP)
+1 in melee vs all enemies
1 CP to recover stakes / chains / mantlets (cannot move until recovered)
The enemy having WWG/WWG(B) is a condition for dismounting your mounted units (p21)
When carrying out a quarter turn can slide to left or right 1UD to make room for turn (single WWG or
group of two WWG maximum) (p32). Takes 2UD of movement to complete a quarter turn but only costs
1 CP (p35 and errata)
Can only make two multiple movements (p34)
Interpenetration by foot units over long edge (narrowest direction) only (p39)
All units can disengage from a WWG/WWG(B) (p40)
Conformation (p40):
WWG – Never conforms to enemy
WWG(B) – Conforms only when they charge or contact an enemy
Cannot be shifted to allow friendly confirmation (errata)
ZoC:
Does not exert a ZoC (p38)
Restricted by enemy ZoC (p38)
WWG/WWG(B) can never be attacked on flank or rear (all sides count as front)
Not subject to multiple attack
Long edge counts as having +1 simple support in melee
No melee support against a WWG/WWG(B) (units in melee support position count as simple support)
No corner to corner or flank to flank simple support against a WWG/WWG(B)
Only one unit attacks in the melee phase (phasing player picks which unit)
Routing WWG/WWG(B) do not cause loss to friendly units (p68)
Impetuous units do not have to pursue a WWG/WWG(B) (p69)
Cannot be part of an ambush (p77)
Cannot be part of a flank march (p79)
WWG(B) specific rules (errata):
Can make flank or rear attacks
Can count in multiple attacks
Does not conform if it’s in corner-to-corner or flank-to-flank contact with the enemy
Can conform for 1 CP |
Many thanks Andy - I am compiling a 2 page ready reference spread sheet for playing with WWgs in v.4.
It is nearly finished and I am just awaiting some last few bit of feedback (& clarifications - hence this post ).
All of the above is very helpful and I'll add to the sheet. Once it has been 'ratified' I'm going to offer it up as a playing aid for the Forum.
Cheers
Mark _________________ 'He could have lived a risk-free, moneyed life, but he preferred to whittle away his fortune on warfare.' Xenophon, The Anabasis |
|
Revenir en haut de page |
|
|
SteveR
Signifer
Inscrit le: 21 Mar 2018 Messages: 381
|
Posté le: Mer Jan 15, 2025 7:38 pm Sujet du message: |
|
Well Mark,
"Therefore, I'd argue that as a WWg has no flanks or rear attacking units don't have to comply with the ruling on page 41 about Flank or Rear."
And this is where we disagree. They do not have flanks or rear for combat purposes, and may not suffer multiple attacks. It does not cry to be extended to other circumstances.
I see no reason to assume exemption from contact restrictions based on extrapolative reading of paragraph covering a different situation. |
|
Revenir en haut de page |
|
|
Mark G Fry
Légat

Inscrit le: 15 Juin 2017 Messages: 588
Localisation: Bristol, UK
|
Posté le: Jeu Jan 16, 2025 10:17 am Sujet du message: |
|
SteveR a écrit: | Well Mark,
"Therefore, I'd argue that as a WWg has no flanks or rear attacking units don't have to comply with the ruling on page 41 about Flank or Rear."
And this is where we disagree. They do not have flanks or rear for combat purposes, and may not suffer multiple attacks. It does not cry to be extended to other circumstances.
I see no reason to assume exemption from contact restrictions based on extrapolative reading of paragraph covering a different situation. |
Hi Steve
As there appear to be no circumstance where a WWg actually has a Front (other than its own movement direction), Flanks or Rear it then seems (to me) extremely odd and illogical to apply a rule specifically about Flanks and Rear to a WWg around combat.
But, I doubt we will resolve this between us and it therefore probably needs a ruling from the 'great & the good' if they are willing to engage
Cheers
Mark _________________ 'He could have lived a risk-free, moneyed life, but he preferred to whittle away his fortune on warfare.' Xenophon, The Anabasis |
|
Revenir en haut de page |
|
|
madaxeman
Magister Militum

Inscrit le: 01 Nov 2014 Messages: 1626
Localisation: Londres Centraal.
|
Posté le: Jeu Jan 16, 2025 10:41 am Sujet du message: |
|
SteveR a écrit: | Well Mark,
"Therefore, I'd argue that as a WWg has no flanks or rear attacking units don't have to comply with the ruling on page 41 about Flank or Rear."
And this is where we disagree. They do not have flanks or rear for combat purposes, and may not suffer multiple attacks. It does not cry to be extended to other circumstances.
I see no reason to assume exemption from contact restrictions based on extrapolative reading of paragraph covering a different situation. |
It’s a strange one - the counterintuitive part of this is that it’s almost always going to be in the best interest of the War Wagons owner for their Wagons to be hit on a long edge.Â
So, allowing enemies who start “in front†of a wagon to contact (and then conform to) one of their long edges is almost always going to be something the Waggoners would welcome with open flails and billhooks … _________________ www.madaxeman.com |
|
Revenir en haut de page |
|
|
Ramses II
Magister Militum

Inscrit le: 17 Juil 2015 Messages: 1243
Localisation: London
|
Posté le: Jeu Jan 16, 2025 7:02 pm Sujet du message: |
|
Wading in where angels fear to tread . . .
I tend to agree to Mark and would suggest we use the descriptions on p41 for front, flanks and rear, and consider the amount of the enemy inside those areas, then conform accordingly.Â
So where the bulk of the enemy front is behind the line of the narrow ’front’ or ‘rear’ edge, conform on that edge. If the bulk are inside the line of the longer ‘flank’ edge, then conform accordingly.
I hope this makes sense.Â
Note, these definitions only apply to movement and conformation, not combat. |
|
Revenir en haut de page |
|
|
Mark G Fry
Légat

Inscrit le: 15 Juin 2017 Messages: 588
Localisation: Bristol, UK
|
Posté le: Jeu Jan 16, 2025 8:08 pm Sujet du message: |
|
Ramses II a écrit: | Wading in where angels fear to tread . . .
I tend to agree to Mark and would suggest we use the descriptions on p41 for front, flanks and rear, and consider the amount of the enemy inside those areas, then conform accordingly.Â
So where the bulk of the enemy front is behind the line of the narrow ’front’ or ‘rear’ edge, conform on that edge. If the bulk are inside the line of the longer ‘flank’ edge, then conform accordingly.
I hope this makes sense.Â
Note, these definitions only apply to movement and conformation, not combat. |
Thank you - most brave of you
However ... I think you are actually agreeing with Steve & not me
My view is that as a WWg has no front, flanks or rear, it cannot project out front, flank or rear 'lines' for an opponent to be either in front of or behind.
So the normal restrictions that apply to attacking a flank or rear also dont apply, especially as an attacker has to fully contact a side to provide support to the primary attacking unit.
cheers
Mark _________________ 'He could have lived a risk-free, moneyed life, but he preferred to whittle away his fortune on warfare.' Xenophon, The Anabasis |
|
Revenir en haut de page |
|
|
Dickstick
Tribun
Inscrit le: 17 Juil 2016 Messages: 725
Localisation: West Bromwich
|
Posté le: Jeu Jan 16, 2025 9:14 pm Sujet du message: |
|
Do you want a wwg to loose it's front for movement and actual combat calculation also.
I think you extrapolate ' only fronts' too far.  _________________ Player 747 don't call me Jumbo |
|
Revenir en haut de page |
|
|
Ramses II
Magister Militum

Inscrit le: 17 Juil 2015 Messages: 1243
Localisation: London
|
Posté le: Jeu Jan 16, 2025 9:33 pm Sujet du message: |
|
Mark G Fry a écrit: | Thank you - most brave of you
However ... I think you are actually agreeing with Steve & not me
My view is that as a WWg has no front, flanks or rear, it cannot project out front, flank or rear 'lines' for an opponent to be either in front of or behind.
So the normal restrictions that apply to attacking a flank or rear also dont apply, especially as an attacker has to fully contact a side to provide support to the primary attacking unit.
cheers
Mark |
I think you are misunderstanding my suggestion. I totally agree that for combat purposes the WWG has no flank or rear. I was merely suggesting that we use the diagram to determine where the enemy conform, and nothing else.
I agree with you that the terms front, flank and rear are not the definitions of the unit, merely considerring these terms as labels for those location of the WWG. |
|
Revenir en haut de page |
|
|
SteveR
Signifer
Inscrit le: 21 Mar 2018 Messages: 381
|
Posté le: Jeu Jan 16, 2025 9:42 pm Sujet du message: |
|
madaxeman a écrit: |
It’s a strange one - the counterintuitive part of this is that it’s almost always going to be in the best interest of the War Wagons owner for their Wagons to be hit on a long edge.Â
So, allowing enemies who start “in front†of a wagon to contact (and then conform to) one of their long edges is almost always going to be something the Waggoners would welcome with open flails and billhooks … |
I had thought of the same point, however then realized the depths of sophistry Mark was attributing to other people. I mean HE would never do this but...
A unit entirely on the flank of a War Wagon could wheel charge such that its front corner contacted the front corner of the War Wagon. If the War Wagon had a front corner of course. Which it does.
And then say that he is conforming to the front, I mean the short edge. Diabolical.
Mark is hanging his hat on the flawed logic that if a War Wagon does not have flanks or a rear for combat purposes then it must not have them for contact purposes either. I believe this to be fallacious, no matter how often repeated. |
|
Revenir en haut de page |
|
|
|
Art De La Guerre Index du Forum > Rules question V4
 |
Toutes les heures sont au format GMT |
|
Vous ne pouvez pas poster de nouveaux sujets dans ce forum Vous ne pouvez pas répondre aux sujets dans ce forum Vous ne pouvez pas éditer vos messages dans ce forum Vous ne pouvez pas supprimer vos messages dans ce forum Vous ne pouvez pas voter dans les sondages de ce forum
|
|