Art De La Guerre
Bienvenue sur le forum de discussion de la règle de jeu l'Art De La Guerre
 
FAQFAQ RechercherRechercher Liste des MembresListe des Membres Groupes d'utilisateursGroupes d'utilisateurs S'enregistrerS'enregistrer
ProfilProfil Se connecter pour vérifier ses messages privésSe connecter pour vérifier ses messages privés ConnexionConnexion
Flank Marches & Forced Back Flank Marches (& Dismoun
Page 1 sur 1
Poster un nouveau sujet   Répondre au sujet
 Art De La Guerre Index du Forum > Rules question V4
Auteur Message
Mark G Fry
Légat


Inscrit le: 15 Juin 2017
Messages: 589
Localisation: Bristol, UK
MessagePosté le: Lun Oct 28, 2024 4:41 pm    Sujet du message: Flank Marches & Forced Back Flank Marches (& Dismoun Répondre en citant
Just a quick question hopefully.

When a Flank March (of all mounted units) comes on-table on a dice roll of a 5 or 4 (as it is all mounted) can it appear on-table in its dismounted form, if the circumstances on the table (e.g. enemy elephants, fortifications, obstacles) would have permitted it to dismount had it been deployed on-table originally. Or if it is a unit type with the automatic ability to dismount regardless of the enemy it is facing (e.g. Mounted Knights) must it dice as if it is on foot rather than mounted, if it intends to dismount upon arrival?

Likewise when a flank march is forced back, am I right in assuming that if the circumstances on the table would have permitted the mounted elements of that flank march to have dismounted, had they been deployed on-table originally; that they can opt to arrive on-table either mounted or dismounted (although the dismounted option may not be a particularly wise move).
Or, do the Forced Back mounted units make their initial move on-table and then have the option to dismount?

It might be that the sequence of play dictates when a unit can only dismount (after full deployment) and so a flank march must always remain either mounted or dismounted (& this must be noted at the start of the flank march? That then begs the question as to how units in ambush that can dismount are treated - must the fact that they are dismounted be noted ?

Thanks
Mark
_________________
'He could have lived a risk-free, moneyed life, but he preferred to whittle away his fortune on warfare.' Xenophon, The Anabasis
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé
Neep
Signifer


Inscrit le: 09 Jan 2023
Messages: 324
MessagePosté le: Lun Oct 28, 2024 4:55 pm    Sujet du message: Répondre en citant
I think you mean can LH dismount and still count for "all LH" when rolling for entry.
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé
Mark G Fry
Légat


Inscrit le: 15 Juin 2017
Messages: 589
Localisation: Bristol, UK
MessagePosté le: Lun Oct 28, 2024 5:54 pm    Sujet du message: Répondre en citant
Neep a écrit:
I think you mean can LH dismount and still count for "all LH" when rolling for entry.


Indeed - but ignore the 5 or 4 bit - the same questions apply to all mounted units then Very Happy
_________________
'He could have lived a risk-free, moneyed life, but he preferred to whittle away his fortune on warfare.' Xenophon, The Anabasis
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé
KevinD
Légat


Inscrit le: 23 Aoû 2021
Messages: 670
Localisation: Texas
MessagePosté le: Lun Oct 28, 2024 6:37 pm    Sujet du message: Répondre en citant
I think they can (if allowed by the list or presence of enemy such as elephants, war wagons or stakes) choose whether or not to dismount the moment they enter the table. Given they are likely to have to flee next bo7nd from the enemy’s arriving FM dismounting might cause a lot of grief.
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé
Neep
Signifer


Inscrit le: 09 Jan 2023
Messages: 324
MessagePosté le: Lun Oct 28, 2024 9:39 pm    Sujet du message: Répondre en citant
Yeah, the decision is made upon placement on table, so I think until then LH is LH.
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé
Mark G Fry
Légat


Inscrit le: 15 Juin 2017
Messages: 589
Localisation: Bristol, UK
MessagePosté le: Mar Oct 29, 2024 9:25 am    Sujet du message: Répondre en citant
KevinD a écrit:
I think they can (if allowed by the list or presence of enemy such as elephants, war wagons or stakes) choose whether or not to dismount the moment they enter the table. Given they are likely to have to flee next bo7nd from the enemy’s arriving FM dismounting might cause a lot of grief.


I think that seems the practical and sensible way of doing things Kevin. I agree. The same should apply with units in Ambush.

It was primarily the LH thing and I know, the likelihood of LH wanting to dismount is limited - although if they dismount as LF and enter the table via a Steep Hill, Wood or Marsh, (whether they are entering the table as a Flank March or as a Forced Back Flank March), that may have obvious attractions.

Cheers
Mark
_________________
'He could have lived a risk-free, moneyed life, but he preferred to whittle away his fortune on warfare.' Xenophon, The Anabasis
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé
  
 Art De La Guerre Index du Forum > Rules question V4
Page 1 sur 1
Poster un nouveau sujet   Répondre au sujet Toutes les heures sont au format GMT

 
Sauter vers:  
Vous ne pouvez pas poster de nouveaux sujets dans ce forum
Vous ne pouvez pas répondre aux sujets dans ce forum
Vous ne pouvez pas éditer vos messages dans ce forum
Vous ne pouvez pas supprimer vos messages dans ce forum
Vous ne pouvez pas voter dans les sondages de ce forum