Art De La Guerre
Bienvenue sur le forum de discussion de la règle de jeu l'Art De La Guerre
 
FAQFAQ RechercherRechercher Liste des MembresListe des Membres Groupes d'utilisateursGroupes d'utilisateurs S'enregistrerS'enregistrer
ProfilProfil Se connecter pour vérifier ses messages privésSe connecter pour vérifier ses messages privés ConnexionConnexion
Question about AMBUSHES exactly on the edge of a terrain.
Page 2 sur 2 Aller à la page Précédente  1, 2
Poster un nouveau sujet   Répondre au sujet
 Art De La Guerre Index du Forum > Rules question V4
Auteur Message
Andy Fyfe
Légionaire


Inscrit le: 14 Fév 2024
Messages: 140
MessagePosté le: Mer Nov 26, 2025 3:11 pm    Sujet du message: Répondre en citant
Dickstick a écrit:
I see and hear no difference Andy.

Can you explain what you think the difference in English is?


They are slightly different but many people use them interchangeably.

'In' effectively means 'part of' while 'inside' is the opposite of 'outside' and means physically enclosed by.

So you are 'in' a group and not 'inside' a group.

However, while 'inside' a house is the correct form it is acceptable to use 'in' a house as well.

In the case we are talking about it is the difference between:

- In the village - the unit is in the terrain piece (no further information)

- Within the village - the unit is enclosed by the terrain piece which implies a border (i.e. not on the edge)

The rules are translated from French so we don't know what the original intention of the rules was.
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé
Neep
Signifer


Inscrit le: 09 Jan 2023
Messages: 380
MessagePosté le: Mer Nov 26, 2025 3:39 pm    Sujet du message: Répondre en citant
These things have all been worked out in geometry. An area is within another area even if an edge of one is coincident with the edge of another.
Sounds like those Spaniards are asserting that there must be at least an epsilon of width between the two edges when in ambush. That's an idiosyncratic interpretation of "in". It's nuts.

As noted by Mike, a Wood with a properly irregular (continuously curving) outline would prevent a unit within the wood from exiting it with a 1UD advance.
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé
Ramses II
Magister Militum


Inscrit le: 17 Juil 2015
Messages: 1289
Localisation: London
MessagePosté le: Mer Nov 26, 2025 6:48 pm    Sujet du message: Répondre en citant
Ok ecnomus, because you refer to an Ambush marker, there are two parts to the answer
  1. Geometry:
    • When a 1UD base moves 1UD, its rear edge will clear the ‘shadow’ of its original location.
    • An ambush marker may be placed so that it is aligned with the straight edge of some terrain.
    • The rear edge of a 1UD base placed on this marker will clear the terrain if it moves 1UD
    • As noted by Dickstick, some terrain does not have a straight edge, in which case, placing the marker ‘entirely within’ such terrain must inevitably result in some terrain being in front of the marker.
      This would prevent a base which makes a 1UD move from clearing the terrain.
    • While there can be translation issues, here “in†is the same as “withinâ€

  2. The process of revealing an ambush.
      As explained above, there may not be 1UD space between the ambushing MI and the enemy MI because of the process of revealing an ambush. In which case the rear of the ambushing MI will not be able to clear the terrain 
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé
ecnomus
Barbare


Inscrit le: 30 Juin 2015
Messages: 29
MessagePosté le: Jeu Nov 27, 2025 9:37 am    Sujet du message: Répondre en citant
Many thanks to everyone for your answers. Now everything is completely clear !!
_________________
Ecnomus
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé
  
 Art De La Guerre Index du Forum > Rules question V4
Page 2 sur 2 Aller à la page Précédente  1, 2
Poster un nouveau sujet   Répondre au sujet Toutes les heures sont au format GMT

 
Sauter vers:  
Vous ne pouvez pas poster de nouveaux sujets dans ce forum
Vous ne pouvez pas répondre aux sujets dans ce forum
Vous ne pouvez pas éditer vos messages dans ce forum
Vous ne pouvez pas supprimer vos messages dans ce forum
Vous ne pouvez pas voter dans les sondages de ce forum