Art De La Guerre
Bienvenue sur le forum de discussion de la règle de jeu l'Art De La Guerre
 
FAQFAQ RechercherRechercher Liste des MembresListe des Membres Groupes d'utilisateursGroupes d'utilisateurs S'enregistrerS'enregistrer
ProfilProfil Se connecter pour vérifier ses messages privésSe connecter pour vérifier ses messages privés ConnexionConnexion
Angling a Charge Within a ZOC
Page 1 sur 1
Poster un nouveau sujet   Répondre au sujet
 Art De La Guerre Index du Forum > Rules question V4
Auteur Message
A4
Auxiliaire


Inscrit le: 08 Oct 2014
Messages: 82
MessagePosté le: Mar Sep 16, 2025 10:00 pm    Sujet du message: Angling a Charge Within a ZOC Répondre en citant
How far does an enemy's zone of control limit the angle at which you can charge?

Knight A is in the zone of control of light horse X and of nobody else. He would like to charge bowman Y, a bit to the side of X. If he could wheel a bit he could charge in a line which would catch first X and then (if X evades) Y.

Unfortunately for the knight, this wheel would make him less well aligned with X than he was before he began to charge.

Can he make this wheel?


P36 bullet 3 says that a unit "cannot end its movement being less aligned with the enemy than t the beginning, ie the angle formed between their fronts must not increase." So he definitely could not make this wheel if he was making an ordinary move. But could he when charging?

In other words is a charge essentially a sub-set of a move - restricted in the same way unless specifically exempted? Or is it treated differently?


For what it is worth, I don't think he should be allowed this wheel but I would like to hear how others play this.

It occurs quite often, when people use skirmishers to try to occupy the attention of their opponent's heavy units.

With thanks,

Alan
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé
Neep
Signifer


Inscrit le: 09 Jan 2023
Messages: 357
MessagePosté le: Mar Sep 16, 2025 11:16 pm    Sujet du message: Répondre en citant
While the second bullet on page 36 allows one to charge home on the MTE without qualification, the errata appears to forbid any preliminaries that decreases the alignment.
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé
A4
Auxiliaire


Inscrit le: 08 Oct 2014
Messages: 82
MessagePosté le: Mar Sep 16, 2025 11:20 pm    Sujet du message: Répondre en citant
Neep a écrit:
While the second bullet on page 36 allows one to charge home on the MTE without qualification, the errata appears to forbid any preliminaries that decreases the alignment.


Thank you, that is very helpful - I had not thought to check the errata.
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé
KevinD
Tribun


Inscrit le: 23 Aoû 2021
Messages: 703
Localisation: Texas
MessagePosté le: Mar Sep 16, 2025 11:37 pm    Sujet du message: Répondre en citant
If the LC and LMI Bw were in a group you might be able to shift or wheel to be exactly opposite the LC and then hit the LMI Bw corner to corner if the LC evades, and then conform onto the LMI Bw.
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé
Hazelbark
Magister Militum


Inscrit le: 12 Nov 2014
Messages: 1698
MessagePosté le: Mer Sep 17, 2025 4:31 pm    Sujet du message: Répondre en citant
As stated by others. When in a ZOC you may not wheel to be less aligned. So if you are in a ZOC parallel to your front edge you may not wheel at all.
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé
  
 Art De La Guerre Index du Forum > Rules question V4
Page 1 sur 1
Poster un nouveau sujet   Répondre au sujet Toutes les heures sont au format GMT

 
Sauter vers:  
Vous ne pouvez pas poster de nouveaux sujets dans ce forum
Vous ne pouvez pas répondre aux sujets dans ce forum
Vous ne pouvez pas éditer vos messages dans ce forum
Vous ne pouvez pas supprimer vos messages dans ce forum
Vous ne pouvez pas voter dans les sondages de ce forum