Mark G Fry
Légat

Inscrit le: 15 Juin 2017 Messages: 586
Localisation: Bristol, UK
|
Posté le: Mar Jan 21, 2025 9:40 pm Sujet du message: # Condottieri (Venetian option) |
|
In this list it states that you can use Stradiots (from 1440).
It also states that you can use English Archers (from 1400) if they are just Longbow (with a possible upgrade to elite)
or you can upgrade the English Archers from 1415 to 1440 to MF swd LB (with option to add stakes)
So can you field both the Stradiots and the English Archers, for one year (1440) in the same army. Is that the intention of the list?
It is not specific but I am assuming that the Longbow must convert to MF swd LB after 1415 and that no English Archers can be fielded after 1440 onwards?
Thanks _________________ 'He could have lived a risk-free, moneyed life, but he preferred to whittle away his fortune on warfare.' Xenophon, The Anabasis |
|
KevinD
Légat
Inscrit le: 23 Aoû 2021 Messages: 666
Localisation: Texas
|
Posté le: Mer Jan 22, 2025 1:04 am Sujet du message: |
|
Mark,
That’s not at all how I read it. As I see it:
Before 1400: no longbows or Stradiots
1400-1414: LMI LB but no MI LB or Stradiots
1415-1439: LMI or MI LB, but no Stradiots
1440: LMI and MI LB and Stradiots all allowed
1441 and later: LMI LB and Stradiots allowed, no MI LB allowed
I do not see any requirement to convert LMI LB to MI at any time. During the period 1415-1440 you can field either (or indeed both) type.
I am not sure whether the weird one year only anomaly in 1440 was intended but the list seems to allow it. I don’t see any errata that apply to this question. |
|
Mark G Fry
Légat

Inscrit le: 15 Juin 2017 Messages: 586
Localisation: Bristol, UK
|
Posté le: Mer Jan 22, 2025 8:48 am Sujet du message: |
|
KevinD a écrit: | Mark,
That’s not at all how I read it. As I see it:
Before 1400: no longbows or Stradiots
1400-1414: LMI LB but no MI LB or Stradiots
1415-1439: LMI or MI LB, but no Stradiots
1440: LMI and MI LB and Stradiots all allowed
1441 and later: LMI LB and Stradiots allowed, no MI LB allowed
I do not see any requirement to convert LMI LB to MI at any time. During the period 1415-1440 you can field either (or indeed both) type.
I am not sure whether the weird one year only anomaly in 1440 was intended but the list seems to allow it. I don’t see any errata that apply to this question. |
It is very helpful to see it laid out like that Kevin. Thankyou.
I'm now driven to do a bit of historical research around the LB and whether they can be used post 1441 - as it does seem a bit odd.
But the clarification on the "1440: LMI and MI LB and Stradiots all allowed" thing is also useful.
Cheers
Mark _________________ 'He could have lived a risk-free, moneyed life, but he preferred to whittle away his fortune on warfare.' Xenophon, The Anabasis |
|