Art De La Guerre
Bienvenue sur le forum de discussion de la règle de jeu l'Art De La Guerre
 
FAQFAQ RechercherRechercher Liste des MembresListe des Membres Groupes d'utilisateursGroupes d'utilisateurs S'enregistrerS'enregistrer
ProfilProfil Se connecter pour vérifier ses messages privésSe connecter pour vérifier ses messages privés ConnexionConnexion
War wagons and shooting - do you choose sides?
Page 1 sur 1
Poster un nouveau sujet   Répondre au sujet
 Art De La Guerre Index du Forum > Rules questions
Auteur Message
MC_Delicatessen
Javelinier


Inscrit le: 30 Juil 2020
Messages: 10
MessagePosté le: Mer Jan 06, 2021 9:56 pm    Sujet du message: War wagons and shooting - do you choose sides? Répondre en citant
The book v3 says: "War wagons shoot only from one flank which is one of the long edges. They cannot shoot from their front."

Does this mean the shooter gets to choose which flank is the shooting side?
Or is it decided by the target priority selection criteria?

And please clarify this in the book Wink
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé
lionelrus
Magister Militum


Inscrit le: 21 Mar 2009
Messages: 3675
Localisation: paris
MessagePosté le: Mer Jan 06, 2021 10:35 pm    Sujet du message: Répondre en citant
MC_Delicatessen a écrit:
The book v3 says: "War wagons shoot only from one flank which is one of the long edges. They cannot shoot from their front."

Does this mean the shooter gets to choose which flank is the shooting side?
Or is it decided by the target priority selection criteria?

And please clarify this in the book Wink

As is not said warwagon are not concerned, you use priority selection criteria. It's clear enought and don't need clarification.
_________________
"Quand on a pas de technique, faut y aller à la zob"
Perceval à Yvain et Gauvain.
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé
MC_Delicatessen
Javelinier


Inscrit le: 30 Juil 2020
Messages: 10
MessagePosté le: Lun Jan 11, 2021 11:08 pm    Sujet du message: Répondre en citant
lionelrus a écrit:
MC_Delicatessen a écrit:
The book v3 says: "War wagons shoot only from one flank which is one of the long edges. They cannot shoot from their front."

Does this mean the shooter gets to choose which flank is the shooting side?
Or is it decided by the target priority selection criteria?

And please clarify this in the book Wink

As is not said warwagon are not concerned, you use priority selection criteria. It's clear enought and don't need clarification.


OK for me. But there are a lot of players on the Facebook group telling me you get to choose a side each turn Wink
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé
lionelrus
Magister Militum


Inscrit le: 21 Mar 2009
Messages: 3675
Localisation: paris
MessagePosté le: Mar Jan 12, 2021 6:27 pm    Sujet du message: Répondre en citant
Yes, but they don't read rule before, isn't it?
In fact, as they are used in France, WWG rarely have targets on both sides.
_________________
"Quand on a pas de technique, faut y aller à la zob"
Perceval à Yvain et Gauvain.
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé
SteveR
Auxiliaire


Inscrit le: 21 Mar 2018
Messages: 72
MessagePosté le: Ven Jan 15, 2021 6:49 am    Sujet du message: Répondre en citant
The rules as written are actually silent on the question.

If they were not we would not need the FAQ clarifying how LH shoot. So one can reason by analogy with the LH and say the WWg must shoot the nearest to all edges. Or one can answer go with choosing the side first which some prefer. Under V3 there is not as present a definitive answer. We'll see about V4

One reason that this may still be unresolved is that, as lionelrus says, it is not common for War Wagons to have targets on both sides. So the issue arises rarely.
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé
lionelrus
Magister Militum


Inscrit le: 21 Mar 2009
Messages: 3675
Localisation: paris
MessagePosté le: Ven Jan 15, 2021 7:38 pm    Sujet du message: Répondre en citant
SteveR a écrit:
The rules as written are actually silent on the question.

If they were not we would not need the FAQ clarifying how LH shoot. So one can reason by analogy with the LH and say the WWg must shoot the nearest to all edges. Or one can answer go with choosing the side first which some prefer. Under V3 there is not as present a definitive answer. We'll see about V4

One reason that this may still be unresolved is that, as lionelrus says, it is not common for War Wagons to have targets on both sides. So the issue arises rarely.

So if nothing special is says, we have to stay on comon rule.
_________________
"Quand on a pas de technique, faut y aller à la zob"
Perceval à Yvain et Gauvain.
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé
madaxeman
Magister Militum


Inscrit le: 01 Nov 2014
Messages: 1010
Localisation: Londres Centraal.
MessagePosté le: Sam Jan 16, 2021 12:37 am    Sujet du message: Répondre en citant
MC_Delicatessen a écrit:
lionelrus a écrit:
MC_Delicatessen a écrit:
The book v3 says: "War wagons shoot only from one flank which is one of the long edges. They cannot shoot from their front."

Does this mean the shooter gets to choose which flank is the shooting side?
Or is it decided by the target priority selection criteria?

And please clarify this in the book Wink

As is not said warwagon are not concerned, you use priority selection criteria. It's clear enought and don't need clarification.


OK for me. But there are a lot of players on the Facebook group telling me you get to choose a side each turn Wink


To be fair to the FB folks (ahem) the original question was more one of “do you choose pre game which side to shoot out of, or once you’ve shot once out of one side, is that the only side you can shoot out of ever again for the rest of the game?”

As others have said here, the possibility of a wagon ever having possible targets on both sides is fleetingly rare, and wasn’t raised on FB - that was just “no, the shooting side is not fixed forever by the players pre-game choice, nor is it fixed by the first shot” 

 Should targets on both sides happen, taking the normal priority sounds logical enough   But I doubt it comes up that often !
_________________
www.madaxeman.com
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé Visiter le site web de l'utilisateur
MC_Delicatessen
Javelinier


Inscrit le: 30 Juil 2020
Messages: 10
MessagePosté le: Mar Jan 19, 2021 4:16 pm    Sujet du message: Répondre en citant
madaxeman a écrit:
MC_Delicatessen a écrit:
lionelrus a écrit:
MC_Delicatessen a écrit:
The book v3 says: "War wagons shoot only from one flank which is one of the long edges. They cannot shoot from their front."

Does this mean the shooter gets to choose which flank is the shooting side?
Or is it decided by the target priority selection criteria?

And please clarify this in the book Wink

As is not said warwagon are not concerned, you use priority selection criteria. It's clear enought and don't need clarification.


OK for me. But there are a lot of players on the Facebook group telling me you get to choose a side each turn Wink


To be fair to the FB folks (ahem) the original question was more one of “do you choose pre game which side to shoot out of, or once you’ve shot once out of one side, is that the only side you can shoot out of ever again for the rest of the game?”

As others have said here, the possibility of a wagon ever having possible targets on both sides is fleetingly rare, and wasn’t raised on FB - that was just “no, the shooting side is not fixed forever by the players pre-game choice, nor is it fixed by the first shot” 

 Should targets on both sides happen, taking the normal priority sounds logical enough   But I doubt it comes up that often !


To be fair to the FB folks, it may be have been careless writing in some cases, but others were very clear (that they misunderstood the rules as stated here) Wink

Here we go:
"They can shoot from either side. Your choice."
"The convention I have seen played is that each shooting phase, owner or opponent's, the owning player picks the side of the War Wagon which will shoot. At that point the normal target priority rules take effect."
"..and you choose either long edge each time you can shoot."

That last one was probably a slip of the pen (eh Tim!) but the previous two are why I would make it clear in the rules. But then I'm just a lonely copy editor LOL trying to make sense of the book Wink

LOL Great that this horse still has legs!
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé
  
 Art De La Guerre Index du Forum > Rules questions
Page 1 sur 1
Poster un nouveau sujet   Répondre au sujet Toutes les heures sont au format GMT

 
Sauter vers:  
Vous ne pouvez pas poster de nouveaux sujets dans ce forum
Vous ne pouvez pas répondre aux sujets dans ce forum
Vous ne pouvez pas éditer vos messages dans ce forum
Vous ne pouvez pas supprimer vos messages dans ce forum
Vous ne pouvez pas voter dans les sondages de ce forum