Art De La Guerre
Bienvenue sur le forum de discussion de la règle de jeu l'Art De La Guerre
 
FAQFAQ RechercherRechercher Liste des MembresListe des Membres Groupes d'utilisateursGroupes d'utilisateurs S'enregistrerS'enregistrer
ProfilProfil Se connecter pour vérifier ses messages privésSe connecter pour vérifier ses messages privés ConnexionConnexion
Capturing Commanders
Page 1 sur 1
Poster un nouveau sujet   Répondre au sujet
 Art De La Guerre Index du Forum > Rules questions
Auteur Message
Lord T
Frondeur


Inscrit le: 26 Juil 2019
Messages: 3
MessagePosté le: Jeu Mai 21, 2020 12:16 am    Sujet du message: Capturing Commanders Répondre en citant
First time this has come up in our little ADLG community.

General has been dragged forward by an impetuous Knight. In the next turn the Knight is eliminated. The General has friendly troops within 5UD, but if he/she has to maneuver round enemy ZOCs and enemy units ends up 1 UD short of making it and is captured.

Did we play this correctly? The rules state that the commander ignores terrain (except impassable) and friendly units. So we assumed is still affected by enemy ZOC and can't pass through enemy units.
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé
Zoltan
Prétorien


Inscrit le: 18 Jan 2015
Messages: 272
Localisation: Wellington, New Zealand
MessagePosté le: Jeu Mai 21, 2020 9:54 am    Sujet du message: Répondre en citant
A ZoC is a thing that affects enemy units. A commander base by itself is not a unit. Ipso facto a lone commander base ignores enemy ZoCs when measuring.
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé
lionelrus
Magister Militum


Inscrit le: 21 Mar 2009
Messages: 3506
Localisation: paris
MessagePosté le: Jeu Mai 21, 2020 11:19 am    Sujet du message: Répondre en citant
I agree with zoltan . The rules only give one condition: having one friend troop in 5UD.
_________________
"Quand on a pas de technique, faut y aller à la zob"
Perceval à Yvain et Gauvain.
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé
ethan
Prétorien


Inscrit le: 12 Nov 2014
Messages: 276
MessagePosté le: Jeu Mai 21, 2020 1:26 pm    Sujet du message: Répondre en citant
It is very difficult to kill a non-included general that isn't committed to combat.
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé
Lord T
Frondeur


Inscrit le: 26 Juil 2019
Messages: 3
MessagePosté le: Ven Mai 22, 2020 1:00 am    Sujet du message: Répondre en citant
Zoltan a écrit:
A ZoC is a thing that affects enemy units. A commander base by itself is not a unit. Ipso facto a lone commander base ignores enemy ZoCs when measuring.


Why are commanders not units? On page 8 of the rules it says "diagram below shows how different types of units are represented both on the tabletop and in the various diagrams throughout the rules." and there is a picture of a commander in the diagram.

Later on the rules define "troops". It is possible there is a translation error somewhere.
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé
Lord T
Frondeur


Inscrit le: 26 Juil 2019
Messages: 3
MessagePosté le: Ven Mai 22, 2020 1:05 am    Sujet du message: Répondre en citant
lionelrus a écrit:
I agree with zoltan . The rules only give one condition: having one friend troop in 5UD.


Hmmm, this does seem to be what the rules state. It doesn't actually dictate he has to be able to move 5UD to a friendly unit, just that there is one within 5ud.

In the incredible rare occurance of a commander being surrounded on all four sides, he could still get away as long as there was a friendly unit within 5 UD. (Yes I get that this is very, very unlikely to every occur.)

So we got it wrong. Dammit, owe my opponent an apology.
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé
lionelrus
Magister Militum


Inscrit le: 21 Mar 2009
Messages: 3506
Localisation: paris
MessagePosté le: Ven Mai 22, 2020 9:53 am    Sujet du message: Répondre en citant
Lord T a écrit:
Zoltan a écrit:
A ZoC is a thing that affects enemy units. A commander base by itself is not a unit. Ipso facto a lone commander base ignores enemy ZoCs when measuring.


Why are commanders not units?.

Because they are not. ie, you can include a general in a unit and not a unit in another unit.
_________________
"Quand on a pas de technique, faut y aller à la zob"
Perceval à Yvain et Gauvain.
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé
  
 Art De La Guerre Index du Forum > Rules questions
Page 1 sur 1
Poster un nouveau sujet   Répondre au sujet Toutes les heures sont au format GMT

 
Sauter vers:  
Vous ne pouvez pas poster de nouveaux sujets dans ce forum
Vous ne pouvez pas répondre aux sujets dans ce forum
Vous ne pouvez pas éditer vos messages dans ce forum
Vous ne pouvez pas supprimer vos messages dans ce forum
Vous ne pouvez pas voter dans les sondages de ce forum