L’Art de la Guerre Version 4 - February 2024

Art de la Guerre
Errata V4

Despite all the care taken in writing and proofreading version 4 of the Art of War, a few errors and
inaccuracies have been discovered in the text. In yellow the new points of February 2024 version.

RULES

Medium spearmen Impact (page 13)
Almughavars counts their Impact ability only when they fight foot units. Against mounted units they
count only combat factors of medium spearmen.

Cavalry (page 15)

2nd bullet, example: A cavalry in melee support or on the flank/rear of an HI has a combat factor of 1
plus the flank bonus for a total of +2.

3rd bullet: Bonus of +1 on the first round of a melee against LMI and medium swordsmen unless cavalry has
Impact or is penalised by the terrain or fighting across fortification, obstacle or stakes.

Cataphract (page 16)
Cataphracts are not unmanoeuvrable units: they have the same restrictions as pikemen (see p 35).

Knights (page 16)
Combeat factor of +2 against LMI, LH and Cavalry. (QRS is correct)

Furious charge and Armour (page 18)

The furious charge can be applied even if the Impact ability is cancelled. When the furious charge is applied,
the Armour ability does not apply for the defending unit.

Example: A medium swordsman impetuous charges a heavy swordsman armour. He does not count the
+1 for Impact but benefits from the furious charge and so cancels the opponent's Armour on the 1st turn.

Impact (page 18)

Last bullet: The Impact ability of mounted troops (but not that of foot) does not apply if they are fighting in
rough or difficult terrain that penalizes them.

Example: If a mounted unit with Impact fights in a terrain that penalises it against a unit with Javelin,
then the Impact ability does not count but the Javelin does.

Polearm (page 18)
To make this ability more interesting, change the 2nd bullet:

»  When a unit wins a melee when fighting to its front againstneunted-treops, it adds +1 to the die roll before
determining the combat outcome.

Stakes (page 20)
Place or remove stakes is considered as a move. So it is not possible to move and place stakes if the
enemy is at less than 4 UD.

Unit characteristics tables - Cavalry (page 22)
Bonus of +1 in the 1sr round vs LMI and Medium swordsmen unless... (QRS is correct)

Commander engaged in combat page 26
First sentence should be: If at the beginning of a contbat movement phase ...
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Commander engaged in combat (page 28)
Only commander fighting with the main unit of a melee counts as Engaged in combat for CP purposes,
combat bonus and risk of elimination. Commander with a unit in melee support is not Engaged in combat.

Half-turn or quarter turn (page 32)
In the Restrictions paragraph, add:
It is forbidden to make two quarter turns and/or half turns in the same movement except for light troops.

Light troops (page 32)
Translation of the first sentence is wrong: During a move, light troops can make a first half-turn or a quarter-

turn for free at-the-beginning-orendof-thenove:

Contraction (page 33)
Last bullet: If the group is composed of units of different categories, the slowest category determines the maximum
contraction (extension) allowed.

Difficult manoeuvres (page 35)
War wagons: Quarter-turns and half-turns cost 2 UD of movement but cost only 1 CP.

Movements allowed in ZoC (page 36)

= 2nd bullet: A unit may always charge the most threatening enemy. A wheel, quarter turn, half turn or
slide is allowed to become more aligned with the most threatening enemy before charging it.

= 3 bullet: This paragraph describes the movements allowed in ZoC to line up in front of the most
threatening enemy without charging it.

* A unit may make a quarter turn or half-turn in place to face an enemy that has a ZoC to its rear or
flank even if it moves part of its front edge outside the enemy's ZoC.

Exiting an ZOC (page 37)

If the most threatening enemy exerts a ZOC on the flank of the evading unit, but not in a flank charge
position (see page 41), then the unit evades to its rear. If the most threatening enemy is in a flank charge
position, the unit cannot evade to its rear; it must first make a quarter turn.

Permitted interpenetrations (page 39)

Clarification for points 4 through 7

Interpenetration between specified units is only permitted from front to rear or vice versa. It is not
possible to slide laterally across units other than LI, Art and non-included commanders during
interpenetration.

Exception to ZoC (page 38)
* A unit does not exert a ZOC into, or when situated in (erfrem), terrain that penalises it during combat.

Types of contact (page 41)
Restrictions on flank or rear contact apply only to a charge or a move to provide melee support.

*  When moving to give a simple support, a unit can always contact the flank or rear of an opposing
unit, regardless of its starting position (see first example of Conformation to give support on page 51).

* During a pursuit, if the unit contacts an enemy's flank, it conforms frontally if it was not in a flanking
position at the start of the pursuit. It conforms in a simple support position, flank against flank, if the
unit contacted is already in melee.

Contact Restrictions (page 42)
In the paragraph for light infantry, it should be understood that an LI may charge an enemy LI in rough
or difficult terrain. Similarly, an LI may charge an elephant in rough terrain.
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Charge range (page 42)

Second point: There’s a typo on the page reference: (see point 4 p 43).

Additional point, 2nd bullet to be consistent with the definition of conformation page 50.

= A group can charge if at least one unit of the group is within charge range of the enemy. However,
only those units of the group that start within charge range will be able to conform with the enemy
to enter into melee. The other units in the group benefit from a bonus of one UD to remain aligned with the
group and conform in simple support (see p 50).

Charge and Minimum Advance Distance (page 43)

If a unit performs a quarter or half turn before charging an evading enemy, this movement cost for
turning is counted towards the minimum advance distance of 1 UD or 2 UD. Thus, a non-impetuous
cavalry unit that performs a quarter turn and charges must still advance 1 UD after turning.

Troops that must evade (p 47) and Destruction of light infantry (page 62)

When it is indicated that LI must be “in terrain” or “in open terrain”, consider the portion of the LI's
base that is contacted by the enemy after conformation. If the contacted part of the LI's base is in rough
or difficult terrain, the LI does not have to evade.

Evade move (page 48)
An evading unit must moves in a straight line #p-+te its maximum adjusted evade distance.

Note: A group can split up when evading if this is necessary to avoid terrain or friendly or enemy units.
A single roll is made to adjust the evade distance.

Conformation, definition (page 50)

Modification of the 3rd paragraph to specify the cases of conformation on the rear corner.

In melee or melee support, the unit must align its front corner against the enemy's front corner. If contact
is made on the flank and conformation on the front corner is not possible for physical reasons (impassable terrain,
table edge, enemy unit or friendly unit that cannot be shifted), then conformation may be done on the rear corner
and is considered to be complete conformation. However, this option does not allow it to avoid zone of control.

Conformation of units already in contact (page 51)

When a unit must conform to enemy A but is also in the ZOC of another enemy B, it must respect the
ZOC of B as a priority and is therefore no longer required to conform to A or make a move to break
contact with A. It may remain in contact with enemy A without moving.

Conforming and shifting units (page 52)
War wagons (including those with blades), heavy artillery and unit defending a fortification, obstacle or

behind stakes cannot be shifted to allow friendly unit to conform.

Incomplete conformation (page 53)
Note: If a unit is routed, there is no conformation before the pursuit move.

Special conformation (page 54)
There is another specific case when a unit is attacked on both flanks and have to conform:

2 A is conforming on 1 A 2

A

2 is moved to stay in
contact with A

Rally (page 55)

Note: A unit can rally and then be forced to conform or displaced by movements of other units.
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Shooting from cover (page 58-59)
A unit that shoots from behind a fortification does not suffer a shooting penalty.

Shooting overhead (page 59)
A light artillery integrated behind a friendly unit providing simple support in melee can shoot over it. It
cannot shoot over if that friendly unit is in melee or in melee support.

War wagon with blades (pages 61 and 67)

A WWg with blades can always charge or contact the enemy. It does not have the restrictions of the WWg;

* It can make a flank or rear attack and count in melee support.

= It can count in a multiple attack but cannot suffer one (see p 61).

= [t does not conform if it's in corner-to-corner or flank-to-flank contact with the enemy (see p 54
Conformation of units already in contact). The player may spend 1 CP if he wishes to conform.

Destruction of light infantry (page 62)

1st bullet correction: Light Infantry are not Routed if they are in melee witha WWg.

Note: An Ll is also routed if it’s flank contacted by a heavy unit in a melee support position, if this flank
or rear contacted is in clear terrain (even partially).

Flank or rear attack (page 63)
1st bullet: The combat factor is reduced to zero: this includes any bonuses such as +1 for spearmen,
pikemen or bowmen against mounted in the first round or those of LI incendiary against El and WWg.

Pursuit (page 69)

Clarification of bullets 6 and 7: A unit in melee support may pursue instead of the unit in melee.
»  Friendly units providing simple support can also advance...

= If several units are in melee or in melee support against the same enemy, only...

Note: Impetuous units in simple support do not have to pursue.

Army cohesion (page 69)

There is a typo in the third bullet: troops in ambush are on table and count toward the army cohesion.

= Ifpart of the army is not on the table (on a flank march er-in-ambushfor-examnple)

River and bridge (p 71)

* Ariver must be straight and without curves.

* A unit on a road that crosses a river is on a bridge. It is then treated as if it were in clear terrain and
has no penalty in combat or shooting (exception to road p 72).

* When a unit defends the bank of a river, it has a bonus of + 1 in combat against units located at least
partially in the river or on the bridge.

Hills and visibility diagram (page 71)
To avoid ambiguity, last sentence should be replaced by:
If the hill has a crest line, then zone B is also hidden to the LH.

Terrain table (page 72)
For the road in the Ambush column, replace None with Depending on terrain.
Note: It is therefore possible to place an ambush marker on a road passing through a terrain.

Placing the village (page 75)

Placement of the road in the 3rd paragraph:

The player also places a road running to, or crossing the village and connecting it to table edges er-anetherroad-
Note: This road cannot be connected to another road, since if the "Road" has also been chosen, it is
placed last after all other terrain.
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Ambush (page 75)
Units in ambush cannot be deployed outside the deployment zone of ambush markers.

Deployment (page 78)
Heavy artillery can only be deployed in clear terrain. It cannot be deployed on a road that crosses
rough or difficult terrain.

= [f the player has fortifications or obstacles in his list, he must always deploy them on the table. He
cannot choose not to deploy them to prevent the opponent from dismounting.

Hesitant corps (page 80)
2nd bullet point
A hesitant or untested corps cannot voluntarily reveal its ambushes.

Driving back a flank march (page 80)
First paragraph, Last sentence: If one of the flank marches is hesitant (see below), it immediately becomes reliable

at the moment it enters the table (the-enemyflank-marech-enters).

Becoming reliable (page 80)

Last bullet: If an ambush marker (other than a fake one) of a hesitant corps is placed behind a hill or in a
gully and is revealed without the enemy coming within 1 UD, the corps becomes reliable only if the
enemy is within 4 UD of one of the units in the ambush. Otherwise, the corps remains hesitant.

ARMY LISTS

20 - Hittites
In the first line, remove “(before 1380 BC)” from “Hittite Chariots”

Hittite chariots {before13860-BS) *

48 - Etruscan
Light chariots should be 7 points, not 9

60 - Classical Greek

Aetolians and Phocean commanders can be included in Hoplites.
Add an asterisk : Other Hoplites *

61 - Hellenistic Greek
Greek allies (List #61 Hellenistic Greek)

63 - Thracian
Thracian hill tribes
Javelinmen elite should be 9 points and not 8 points

76 - Scythian
Under the 1st and 2nd bullets, Thracian plains tribes should read Thracian lowland tribes.

85 - Early Imperial Roman
Civil war from 69 to 70 AD (Eastern or Western)

87 - Late Imperial Roman
Auxilia Palatina : Remove line Add Impact as they already have Impact ability by default.
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88 - Patrician Roman
Strategist: Aetius (Western army 425-454 AD)

109 - Sassanid Persian
From 629 AD: No more cataphract allowed and only 0-6 light cavalry bow.

130 - Arab Conquest
Detail: The Arab ally cannot be taken before 634 AD and can never be a Bedouin tribe.

124 - Justinian Byzantines
Limitanei: point costs are reversed

Heavy swordsmen mediocre 6
Medium swordsmen mediocre 4
150 - Welsh

Irish allies (List #156 Irish)

155 - Viking and Leidang

If the option “Vikings in Ireland” is chosen, the only allowed allies are Irish.

158 - Slav
Terrains should be replaced by: Forest, Add Plain if Great Moravia

182 - Feudal French
In the first line, remove the “from 1085 condition”.

Feudal Knights * frem-1085

184 - Feudal Scots

The first use of the schiltron by the Scots is the battle of Stirling Bridge in 1297.
The following option is added (not mandatory):

From 1297, replace all Scottish spearmen:

Pikemen mediocre 8 pts 8-24

Note: All spearmen must be of the same type: pikemen or heavy spearmen.

199 -Dailami Dynasties
Strategist Ahmad ibn Buya (946-967) can be taken only with the Buyids of Baghdad option.

204 - Taifa Kingdoms
Christian knights cannot be chosen before 1050.
Christian knights (from 1050) *

214 -Feudal Hungarian
Russian allies (List #165 Rus) from 1019 to 1046 and not list #216 which starts only in 1055.

220 - Teutonic Knights
Turcopoles are authorized only from 1230.

233 -Medieval Irish

Edward Bruce from 1315 to 1318

Scots nobles *: remove the option Knight on foot

Note: Heavy knights as well as knights on foot are only available from 1330.
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243 - Low Countries
Incorrect dates, should be 1297 - 1478 AD

248 - Lithuanian
Only in 1435 with Svitrigaila
Teutonic allies (List #253 Medieval Teutonic) mandatory

263 - Order of St John
Knights from 1310-1329 should be Medium Knights Impact
Dismount as Heavy Spearman Armor

267 - Ottoman Empire
All Sipahis should be in the same row: you can choose 4-12 Medium cavalry bow or Heavy cavalry bow
and both can be upgraded to elite (max 6 in total).

277 - Indonesian and Malay
Yuan ally should be from 1289 to 1300.



