Art De La Guerre
Bienvenue sur le forum de discussion de la règle de jeu l'Art De La Guerre

FAQFAQ RechercherRechercher Liste des MembresListe des Membres Groupes d'utilisateursGroupes d'utilisateurs S'enregistrerS'enregistrer
ProfilProfil Se connecter pour vérifier ses messages privésSe connecter pour vérifier ses messages privés ConnexionConnexion
Safavid Persian list?
Page 1 sur 1
 Art De La Guerre Index du Forum > Army lists
Auteur Message
agregory
Frondeur

MessagePosté le: Lun Mai 30, 2022 6:04 pm    Sujet du message: Safavid Persian list? Répondre en citant
Folks:

After recently painting up an Ottoman Empire army, I decided I wanted some Safavids to fight them. I did not see a list in the rules which covered them - understandable, as they are really a later army. I have put together the following draft list, and would appreciate comments from people who know more than I do about the Safavids. (I am not an expert by any means!)

My interest is in putting together an army for informal games (we mostly use ADLG as a set for historical battles at my local club).

The list is below. Any comments would be greatly appreciated.

Kind regards,

A. Gregory

Early Safavid Persians

1501-1589 AD
Plain, Steppe, Mountains
Command +4
Strategist: ???

The Safavid Persians rose to prominence in Northern Iran in 1501, among the Turcomen tribes disaffected by Ottoman rule. Rooted in the Safavid order of Sufiism coming from Azerbaijan, a branch of militant Shia arose, the Qizilbash, informed by the the belief that their leader was the divinity in human form. Ismail I collected together a force of Turcomen, Talysh tribesmen, Circassians, and Georgians, and began building an empire. He fought against the remnants of the Timurid Empire, and increasingly came into conflict with the Ottomans, with whom the Safavids would fight a series of wars lasting until the fall of the empire in 1720, with a last resurgence until Abbas III was overthrown by the first of the Afsharids in 1736.