Art De La Guerre
Bienvenue sur le forum de discussion de la règle de jeu l'Art De La Guerre
 
FAQFAQ RechercherRechercher Liste des MembresListe des Membres Groupes d'utilisateursGroupes d'utilisateurs S'enregistrerS'enregistrer
ProfilProfil Se connecter pour vérifier ses messages privésSe connecter pour vérifier ses messages privés ConnexionConnexion
Most Threatening Enemy Dynamically Evaluated during Charge?
Page 1 sur 3 Aller à la page 1, 2, 3  Suivante
Poster un nouveau sujet   Répondre au sujet
 Art De La Guerre Index du Forum > Rules question V4
Auteur Message
KevinD
Légat


Inscrit le: 23 Aoû 2021
Messages: 668
Localisation: Texas
MessagePosté le: Sam Aoû 10, 2024 1:50 am    Sujet du message: Most Threatening Enemy Dynamically Evaluated during Charge? Répondre en citant
Is the Most Threatening Enemy reevaluated during a charge as some enemy evade or does the original MTE remain the MTE throughout the charge?

Suppose for example there is a charging unit (A) an enemy in front (X, the MTE) and another enemy off to the side (Y) at an angle such that it would ZOC A but it’s not the MTE as X is in front of A but Y is not. A charges X (it’s MTE) which evades. Is Y now the MTE and thus it halts A’s charge at the start point (or a micron forward) as A can’t charge across Y’s ZOC (as p 43 #6 last bullet seems to say), or does A carry on charging after X as it was the original MTE?

Y……AAA
.Y……
……XXX
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé
Neep
Signifer


Inscrit le: 09 Jan 2023
Messages: 323
MessagePosté le: Sam Aoû 10, 2024 2:25 am    Sujet du message: Répondre en citant
The 7th bullet in section 6 on page 43 seems to indicate it's immediately re-evaluated.
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé
Mike Bennett
Légat


Inscrit le: 11 Nov 2017
Messages: 594
Localisation: Carnforth, Lancashire, UK
MessagePosté le: Lun Aoû 12, 2024 8:56 am    Sujet du message: Répondre en citant
Neep a écrit:
The 7th bullet in section 6 on page 43 seems to indicate it's immediately re-evaluated.


This bullet says it stops if it "meets.....ZoC". Could it be argued that this means a new ZoC you enter as you move, and does not apply if you started within two ZoCs as you did not "meet" the second one whilst charging?

NB It does seem strange that you can charge without moving. IMHO we will get further getting a clarification and hopefully an errata on what is intended than by micro analysing the words.

.
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé
Ramses II
Magister Militum


Inscrit le: 17 Juil 2015
Messages: 1243
Localisation: London
MessagePosté le: Lun Aoû 12, 2024 11:59 am    Sujet du message: Répondre en citant
I suggest there are three possible outcomes in this kind of scenario:
  1. The charger and target are more than 1UD apart, so XX is not the MTE. 
    Here the chargers AA may choose a direction that will contact both XX and YY.  (P43, step2)
  2. AA may start inside the ZoC of XX, and must move with respect to that ZoC (p36).
    In this case, if XX evades, AA can only advance until it meets an enemy ZoC, where it must comply with that ZoC, or stop. As originally described, it cannot comply so must stop.
  3. Since YY is placed to protect XX in some manner, AA may decide to do nothing (mutually pinning each other may provide some numerical advantage elsewhere . . . per last comment p36)
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé
KevinD
Légat


Inscrit le: 23 Aoû 2021
Messages: 668
Localisation: Texas
MessagePosté le: Lun Aoû 12, 2024 5:54 pm    Sujet du message: Répondre en citant
Thanks Ramses.

In this case XXX was TME and AAA was impetuous so had to charge.

So, it looks like AAA declares a charge on XXX who evades but then YYY is the new TME so AAA just sits. The only on table movement is that XXX evades….

(Although the rules currently don’t permit it, it would be nice if a charger could wheel to face and then continue their charge against a new TME.)

Mike,

I do think YYY’s ZOC counts as a new ZOC as only TME’s ZOC is considered to be a ZOC originally. “Meet†is a bit awkward as can imply motion… hence why perhaps AAA has to move a micron. But note it does not always do so (“I met Bob when he came over to our office yesterdayâ€.) but perhaps all this is parsing the meaning of “meet†a little too much - who knows what the connotation in the original French was….
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé
Zoltan
Légat


Inscrit le: 18 Jan 2015
Messages: 505
Localisation: Wellington, New Zealand
MessagePosté le: Lun Aoû 12, 2024 7:30 pm    Sujet du message: Répondre en citant
This exact situation arose in a tournament 2 weeks ago and I discussed it with Dan H. Our conclusion was as follows:

1. A unit starts within two enemy ZoCs: one to its front, the other to its side.

2. The unit determines the MTE at this point in time: the ZoCer to its front.

3. The unit declares a charge.

4. The MTE elects to evade and completes its move.

5. The charger completes its move (ignoring the side ZoCer).

6. The charger only stops if it meets the ZoC of a third (new) enemy.

7. “Meets†does indeed imply that forward motion is underway
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé
KevinD
Légat


Inscrit le: 23 Aoû 2021
Messages: 668
Localisation: Texas
MessagePosté le: Lun Aoû 12, 2024 8:01 pm    Sujet du message: Répondre en citant
Thanks, Zoltan.

Now that 2 members of the DT seem to disagree, I’d really like some sort of quasi official ruling on this. It’s not exactly an uncommon situation.
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé
Zoltan
Légat


Inscrit le: 18 Jan 2015
Messages: 505
Localisation: Wellington, New Zealand
MessagePosté le: Lun Aoû 12, 2024 8:10 pm    Sujet du message: Répondre en citant
The MTE rules are in a section about options for moving when in a ZoC.

One option for leaving a ZoC is to charge the MTE.

The MTE concept appears to have been introduced as a tie-breaker where multiple opponents exert a ZoC on a unit.

i.e. if there are many threatening enemies (aka ZoCers), you may charge the MOST threatening (ignoring the others). 
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé
Hazelbark
Magister Militum


Inscrit le: 12 Nov 2014
Messages: 1672
MessagePosté le: Lun Aoû 12, 2024 8:42 pm    Sujet du message: Répondre en citant
KevinD a écrit:
Thanks, Zoltan.

Now that 2 members of the DT seem to disagree, I’d really like some sort of quasi official ruling on this. It’s not exactly an uncommon situation.


Who are the two members?
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé
KevinD
Légat


Inscrit le: 23 Aoû 2021
Messages: 668
Localisation: Texas
MessagePosté le: Lun Aoû 12, 2024 8:45 pm    Sujet du message: Répondre en citant
Yes, but once he evades he is no longer the MTE but it’s now to late to change the direction of your charge and go after the new MTE.

P 36 says you can charge the MTE (2nd bullet) but also the bottom paragraph says when you are in or enter the MTE the charge must target it. P 43 says a charge stops when it meets such a ZOC. The question is do you dynamically recalculate the MTE during the charge as the first enemy evades (and is thus no longer the MTE)?

Dan and Ramses seem to disagree on this (at least regarding a second (would be) ZOC that will become the MTE when the target evades if the charger began his charge in that 2nd unit’s ZOC).
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé
Hazelbark
Magister Militum


Inscrit le: 12 Nov 2014
Messages: 1672
MessagePosté le: Lun Aoû 12, 2024 8:50 pm    Sujet du message: Répondre en citant
Let me ask:

option A
You charge
You start in the ZOC of one unit and adhering to ZOC rules will now enter a ZOC of a new unit and try to it cross illegally a ZOC as the original charger travels down its path

or

option B
You charge
You are in two ZOCs.
Your Charge complies with the ZOC of the MTE.
What effect does the second ZOC that was not the MTE have?
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé
Hazelbark
Magister Militum


Inscrit le: 12 Nov 2014
Messages: 1672
MessagePosté le: Lun Aoû 12, 2024 8:51 pm    Sujet du message: Répondre en citant
KevinD a écrit:

Dan and Ramses seem to disagree on this



Never. Rameses knows i am much bigger, uglier and meaner. But at this moment it is unclear what invoking my name is about.
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé
KevinD
Légat


Inscrit le: 23 Aoû 2021
Messages: 668
Localisation: Texas
MessagePosté le: Lun Aoû 12, 2024 9:18 pm    Sujet du message: Répondre en citant
Hazelbark a écrit:
Let me ask:

option A
You charge
You start in the ZOC of one unit and adhering to ZOC rules will now enter a ZOC of a new unit and try to it cross illegally a ZOC as the original charger travels down its path

or

option B
You charge
You are in two ZOCs.
Your Charge complies with the ZOC of the MTE.
What effect does the second ZOC that was not the MTE have?


Option C:

You start in the ZOC of the MTE and another (nonMTE) unit off at an angle that charging the MTE will not cause you to hit. The MTE evades (removing its ZOC I presume), leaving you in the ZOC of the other unit. What happens? Does the charging unit remain in place as it can’t cross this (now MTE) ZOC? Move forward slightly and halt (as it can’t continue crossing a new MTE’s ZOC)? Continue on after the evader ignoring the second unit’s (now presumably MTE) ZOC as you do not recalculate MTE ZOCs during charges and evades?

If the original target doesn’t evade, there’s no problem as you are charging the MTE. But what if it evades and takes it’s ZOC away?
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé
Zoltan
Légat


Inscrit le: 18 Jan 2015
Messages: 505
Localisation: Wellington, New Zealand
MessagePosté le: Lun Aoû 12, 2024 10:02 pm    Sujet du message: Répondre en citant
The decision on which ZoCer to charge is made at a single point in time (charge phase).

P.35 clearly states “When a unit is in…one or more enemy ZoCs, the only movements allowed … are determined by the MTE.â€

The permitted movements include charging the MTE (p.36 errata).
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé
Neep
Signifer


Inscrit le: 09 Jan 2023
Messages: 323
MessagePosté le: Lun Aoû 12, 2024 11:03 pm    Sujet du message: Répondre en citant
You stop when the Zoc blocks your movement. If you wind up in a ZoC of an enemy you cannot contact, you still advance as far as you can reducing misalignment.

NEW ISSUE
There is a sneaky option for the impetuous uncontrolled charge. You must take the shortest path toward your priority target. But a slide doesn't cost you, so you might be able to skirt the potentially intruding ZoC.
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé
  
 Art De La Guerre Index du Forum > Rules question V4
Page 1 sur 3 Aller à la page 1, 2, 3  Suivante
Poster un nouveau sujet   Répondre au sujet Toutes les heures sont au format GMT

 
Sauter vers:  
Vous ne pouvez pas poster de nouveaux sujets dans ce forum
Vous ne pouvez pas répondre aux sujets dans ce forum
Vous ne pouvez pas éditer vos messages dans ce forum
Vous ne pouvez pas supprimer vos messages dans ce forum
Vous ne pouvez pas voter dans les sondages de ce forum