Art De La Guerre
Bienvenue sur le forum de discussion de la règle de jeu l'Art De La Guerre
 
FAQFAQ RechercherRechercher Liste des MembresListe des Membres Groupes d'utilisateursGroupes d'utilisateurs S'enregistrerS'enregistrer
ProfilProfil Se connecter pour vérifier ses messages privésSe connecter pour vérifier ses messages privés ConnexionConnexion
Rallying an undisordered unit.
Page 2 sur 2 Aller à la page Précédente  1, 2
Poster un nouveau sujet   Répondre au sujet
 Art De La Guerre Index du Forum > Rules question V4
Auteur Message
Mark G Fry
Légat


Inscrit le: 15 Juin 2017
Messages: 588
Localisation: Bristol, UK
MessagePosté le: Mar Oct 22, 2024 2:18 pm    Sujet du message: Répondre en citant
Ramses II a écrit:
The real question here is about orders not their cost as follows :-

Q2. If the impetuous unit is >4UD from enemy units and rallies for 0CP, and later in the turn a valid enemy target evades into charge range, what happens??
A2. Nothing because the impetuous unit has rallied, which takes the place of movement (see p55)

I hope the above will close this thread


Sorry ... can I just check this please?

P55: Procedure states:
"A unit that has attempted to rally cannot voluntarily move or conform ..."

Surely, a unit that is subject to an uncontrolled charge is not making a voluntary move?
Therefore, regardless of whether the attempt to rally is successful or not; or is paid for, or not, that unit must make its uncontrolled charge, if required to do so?

Apologies, again for prolonging this.
Thanks
Mark
_________________
'He could have lived a risk-free, moneyed life, but he preferred to whittle away his fortune on warfare.' Xenophon, The Anabasis
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé
Ramses II
Magister Militum


Inscrit le: 17 Juil 2015
Messages: 1243
Localisation: London
MessagePosté le: Mar Oct 22, 2024 2:19 pm    Sujet du message: Répondre en citant
Good spot Kevin, reinforced by the fourth bullet rather than the first  Very Happy
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé
KevinD
Légat


Inscrit le: 23 Aoû 2021
Messages: 668
Localisation: Texas
MessagePosté le: Mar Oct 22, 2024 3:18 pm    Sujet du message: Répondre en citant
Mark, impetuous troops only make an uncontrolled charge if they receive no orders. See 4th bullet p45. “If the unit or group receives no orders, all impetuous units that are within charge range of an enemy must make an uncontrolled charge.â€

All the orders are listed on p 25.

Ironically, I don’t think 0 CP rallies at greater than 4UD are ever defined as requiring an order (at least in the English version). Orders are defined on p 25 and rallies on p 45 are these 0 UD rallies are left off the list of orders on p 25 and not defined as orders on p 45.

So potentially a troops who rallied for 0 CP (successful or not, whether they were disordered or not) are still required to make an uncontrolled charge if within charge range.

This turns on the precise wording on pp 25 and 45 and could easily be different in French or just not what’s intended…
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé
Neep
Signifer


Inscrit le: 09 Jan 2023
Messages: 323
MessagePosté le: Mar Oct 22, 2024 3:47 pm    Sujet du message: Répondre en citant
Well, you do have "orders" in the 4th bullet on page 45, and "move, rally or [hold]" in the 5th bullet, so I think it's bullet proof. You also have 0 CP spontaneous charges (which are listed on page 25 along with uncontrolled charges...), but I don't think it ever comes into consideration.
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé
Neep
Signifer


Inscrit le: 09 Jan 2023
Messages: 323
MessagePosté le: Mar Oct 22, 2024 5:23 pm    Sujet du message: Répondre en citant
A thank you to everyone participating in the discussion. My query was a curiosity that cropped up while repeatedly reading the Uncontrolled charges pages for the more important questions on the Uncontrolled Charge and interpenetration thread. I may have been too familiar with the scenario to provide an adequately clear description.

This is the forum of record where any and all queries should be posted. Not every question has a ready answer, but an unasked question never does.
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé
lionelrus
Magister Militum


Inscrit le: 21 Mar 2009
Messages: 4825
Localisation: paris
MessagePosté le: Mar Oct 22, 2024 5:35 pm    Sujet du message: Répondre en citant
Neep a écrit:
Can you roll a rally test for a unit that has no cohesion losses?
In particular, can you rally impetuous units > 4UD from enemy for 0 CP, to prevent potential uncontrolled charges against evading enemy?


Impetuous max move is 4UD (cavalry). If they are more far, as they can't reach a ennemy, so they are not subjet to uncontroled charge. So why prevent it?
_________________
"Quand on a pas de technique, faut y aller à la zob"
Perceval à Yvain et Gauvain.
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé
KevinD
Légat


Inscrit le: 23 Aoû 2021
Messages: 668
Localisation: Texas
MessagePosté le: Mar Oct 22, 2024 5:59 pm    Sujet du message: Répondre en citant
lionelrus, there seem to be two edge cases where being allowed to rally for 0 CP might help.

1. Impetuous cavalry or camelry right at 4 UD from an enemy unit that is engaged, so rallies for 0 CP, but then the friends engaging (and probably also providing simple support against) the enemy disengage/break off, making it a legitimate target for a spontaneous charge.
2. An enemy evades from beyond 4 UD but ends up less than 4 UD from the impetuous unit.

As I wrote above, I am not sure that a 0 CP rally attempt prevents the spontaneous advance in either of these cases as it may not count as an order to prevent spontaneous charges, depending on how closely you read pp 25 and 45.
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé
madaxeman
Magister Militum


Inscrit le: 01 Nov 2014
Messages: 1626
Localisation: Londres Centraal.
MessagePosté le: Mar Oct 22, 2024 9:01 pm    Sujet du message: Répondre en citant
KevinD a écrit:
lionelrus, there seem to be two edge cases where being allowed to rally for 0 CP might help.

1. Impetuous cavalry or camelry right at 4 UD from an enemy unit that is engaged, so rallies for 0 CP, but then the friends engaging (and probably also providing simple support against) the enemy disengage/break off, making it a legitimate target for a spontaneous charge.
2. An enemy evades from beyond 4 UD but ends up less than 4 UD from the impetuous unit.

As I wrote above, I am not sure that a 0 CP rally attempt prevents the spontaneous advance in either of these cases as it may not count as an order to prevent spontaneous charges, depending on how closely you read pp 25 and 45.


Why not send Lionel a postcard should either of these hyper-corner-case situations ever crop up for you in a real game, and I'm sure he'll be happy to mail you back a reply and a ruling within a couple of weeks... Rolling Eyes
_________________
www.madaxeman.com
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé Visiter le site web de l'utilisateur
Mike Bennett
Légat


Inscrit le: 11 Nov 2017
Messages: 594
Localisation: Carnforth, Lancashire, UK
MessagePosté le: Mar Oct 22, 2024 9:54 pm    Sujet du message: Répondre en citant
madaxeman a écrit:


Why not send Lionel a postcard should either of these hyper-corner-case situations ever crop up for you in a real game, and I'm sure he'll be happy to mail you back a reply and a ruling within a couple of weeks... Rolling Eyes


It is even better than that. Hyper edge cases, and the outrageous question of using a free rallying on a unit that is not damaged, to save 3 command points later.

So an edge case with extra cheese on it.


Dernière édition par Mike Bennett le Mar Oct 22, 2024 10:03 pm; édité 3 fois
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé
lionelrus
Magister Militum


Inscrit le: 21 Mar 2009
Messages: 4825
Localisation: paris
MessagePosté le: Mar Oct 22, 2024 9:55 pm    Sujet du message: Répondre en citant
madaxeman a écrit:
KevinD a écrit:
lionelrus, there seem to be two edge cases where being allowed to rally for 0 CP might help.

1. Impetuous cavalry or camelry right at 4 UD from an enemy unit that is engaged, so rallies for 0 CP, but then the friends engaging (and probably also providing simple support against) the enemy disengage/break off, making it a legitimate target for a spontaneous charge.
2. An enemy evades from beyond 4 UD but ends up less than 4 UD from the impetuous unit.

As I wrote above, I am not sure that a 0 CP rally attempt prevents the spontaneous advance in either of these cases as it may not count as an order to prevent spontaneous charges, depending on how closely you read pp 25 and 45.


Why not send Lionel a postcard should either of these hyper-corner-case situations ever crop up for you in a real game, and I'm sure he'll be happy to mail you back a reply and a ruling within a couple of weeks... Rolling Eyes


Non merci, Patrick et moi avons décidé de ne plus répondre aux questions débiles. Rallier une unité qui n'est pas en désordre, il faut être gravement perturbé pour penser à un truc pareil. Je crois que c'est le même débile qui voulait faire des charges incontrôlées contrôlées.
_________________
"Quand on a pas de technique, faut y aller à la zob"
Perceval à Yvain et Gauvain.
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé
Neep
Signifer


Inscrit le: 09 Jan 2023
Messages: 323
MessagePosté le: Mar Oct 22, 2024 11:26 pm    Sujet du message: Répondre en citant
Est-ce une promesse? Very Happy Very Happy
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé
AlanCutner
Tribun


Inscrit le: 03 Nov 2014
Messages: 760
Localisation: Scotland
MessagePosté le: Mer Oct 23, 2024 9:19 am    Sujet du message: Répondre en citant
KevinD a écrit:
I have always read P23 and 45 as saying they must do this after their own corps has moved but before the player moves the next corps.

P45:

“Timing of an uncontrolled charge

The check to see if the unit is subject to an uncontrolled charge is made… at the end of its own corps’ movement phase if it did not move, rally, or was not held in place by its own commander.â€


Not just the check made at the end of the corps movements but also (P45) uncontrolled charges are [physically] made after all other movements of the units in gthe same corps
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé
Hazelbark
Magister Militum


Inscrit le: 12 Nov 2014
Messages: 1672
MessagePosté le: Mer Oct 23, 2024 4:16 pm    Sujet du message: Répondre en citant
lionelrus a écrit:

Non merci, Patrick et moi avons décidé de ne plus répondre aux questions débiles.



La sagesse de la France.



Cool
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé
  
 Art De La Guerre Index du Forum > Rules question V4
Page 2 sur 2 Aller à la page Précédente  1, 2
Poster un nouveau sujet   Répondre au sujet Toutes les heures sont au format GMT

 
Sauter vers:  
Vous ne pouvez pas poster de nouveaux sujets dans ce forum
Vous ne pouvez pas répondre aux sujets dans ce forum
Vous ne pouvez pas éditer vos messages dans ce forum
Vous ne pouvez pas supprimer vos messages dans ce forum
Vous ne pouvez pas voter dans les sondages de ce forum