Art De La Guerre
Bienvenue sur le forum de discussion de la règle de jeu l'Art De La Guerre
 
FAQFAQ RechercherRechercher Liste des MembresListe des Membres Groupes d'utilisateursGroupes d'utilisateurs S'enregistrerS'enregistrer
ProfilProfil Se connecter pour vérifier ses messages privésSe connecter pour vérifier ses messages privés ConnexionConnexion
Stopping looting
Page 1 sur 2 Aller à la page 1, 2  Suivante
Poster un nouveau sujet   Répondre au sujet
 Art De La Guerre Index du Forum > Rules question V4
Auteur Message
KevinD
Légat


Inscrit le: 23 Aoû 2021
Messages: 675
Localisation: Texas
MessagePosté le: Ven Juin 13, 2025 5:52 pm    Sujet du message: Stopping looting Répondre en citant
1. If a general is in combat and rolls a 1 so can’t issue any orders to have his troops make any moves, can his troops roll to stop looting?

2. If you are looting a camp, roll a 4-6 to stop, but don’t then move them so remain in contact with the camp, are you still looting and need to roll a 4-6 to leave in the future?


Dernière édition par KevinD le Sam Juin 14, 2025 6:20 am; édité 1 fois
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé
Neep
Signifer


Inscrit le: 09 Jan 2023
Messages: 328
MessagePosté le: Ven Juin 13, 2025 6:27 pm    Sujet du message: Répondre en citant
I read it as: roll to accept orders -> accept orders -> stop looting
So even a zero cost rally would stop looting. (Although it brings up the question of whether you can rally if you have no cohesion hits.)
But no order, looting continues.
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé
Neep
Signifer


Inscrit le: 09 Jan 2023
Messages: 328
MessagePosté le: Ven Juin 13, 2025 9:08 pm    Sujet du message: Répondre en citant
So if you are less than 4UD from the enemy camp, can you rally for free at 3-6?
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé
SteveR
Signifer


Inscrit le: 21 Mar 2018
Messages: 381
MessagePosté le: Sam Juin 14, 2025 2:19 pm    Sujet du message: Répondre en citant
Huh? Sure he can roll. It wont do anything but if you want to see if you can roll a 4-6 who am I to stop you. Just say you are retroactively rolling for a water way

To be clear, the roll of 4-6 is to be able to issue an order to stop looting.

If you make that roll you may then issue an order.

If you fail that roll you may not

Under any circumstances if an order to stop looting is not given you do not stop looting. This is because you have not been ordered to stop looting.

I don't think you can "bank" the roll of 4-6 for use on a later turn.

Comprehensive?

(and I don't see where rallying has anything to do with this.)
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé
Neep
Signifer


Inscrit le: 09 Jan 2023
Messages: 328
MessagePosté le: Sam Juin 14, 2025 2:24 pm    Sujet du message: Répondre en citant
Rallying is an order.

The question about the effect of an (unlooted) camp is just a side track.
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé
Andy Fyfe
Auxiliaire


Inscrit le: 14 Fév 2024
Messages: 92
MessagePosté le: Lun Juin 16, 2025 9:33 pm    Sujet du message: Répondre en citant
Neep a écrit:
Rallying is an order.

The question about the effect of an (unlooted) camp is just a side track.


A unit looting the camp is considered to be in melee so does not qualify for the 'free' 3+ rally.
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé
Neep
Signifer


Inscrit le: 09 Jan 2023
Messages: 328
MessagePosté le: Lun Juin 16, 2025 11:53 pm    Sujet du message: Répondre en citant
I would argue that it's more than 4UD from all enemies and it's not in melee "with an enemy". but clearly we are in coin toss territory. Very Happy

Nice catch BTW.
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé
Dickstick
Tribun


Inscrit le: 17 Juil 2016
Messages: 726
Localisation: West Bromwich
MessagePosté le: Mer Juin 18, 2025 8:40 am    Sujet du message: Répondre en citant
The baggage is an enemy so in contact is within 4 ud.

Or are we looting friendly baggage now?
_________________
Player 747 don't call me Jumbo
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé
Neep
Signifer


Inscrit le: 09 Jan 2023
Messages: 328
MessagePosté le: Mer Juin 18, 2025 2:42 pm    Sujet du message: Répondre en citant
Once the baggage is successfully looted, it becomes an impassible bit of terrain. Except you are still in melee with it, which prevents your impetuous units from making uncontrolled charges (and being shot at?). That leaves the question of whether you can rally for 0CP moot because while you are in melee, you are not in melee with an enemy unit (page 55).
Now if the baggage is unlooted, it is "treated as an enemy unit" - page 66. But does that make it an enemy unit for the purpose of rallying, page 55? I suppose it does, though I'm always wary of treating the preambles as bullet points. Note that the first bullet (page 66) is pointless as you cannot make a 2d or 3d move within 4UD (page 34). The second bullet is either making an exception for impetuous mounted to treat fortified camps as "behind a fortification" or making an exception for impetuous foot to not treat fortified camps as "behind a fortification". Do looting units flee a flank march?

Nitpicking, I know... Very Happy
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé
Dickstick
Tribun


Inscrit le: 17 Juil 2016
Messages: 726
Localisation: West Bromwich
MessagePosté le: Jeu Juin 19, 2025 8:40 pm    Sujet du message: Répondre en citant
You really do need to reread p66 looting the camp.
A lost camp does not cease to exist, it gives up victory points.
Looting units cannot do anything else (ie rally)
There is no cease looting order, one either continues looting or moves away.
The camp still attracts uncontrolled charges. Plenty of treasure for everyone .
_________________
Player 747 don't call me Jumbo
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé
Neep
Signifer


Inscrit le: 09 Jan 2023
Messages: 328
MessagePosté le: Jeu Juil 17, 2025 10:17 pm    Sujet du message: Répondre en citant
DS, I reread this and realized I had missed your last line.
Have to say I completely disagree. The last bullet seems pretty clear that the camp is no longer an enemy asset, but a terrain piece:
Citation:
A camp is never removed from the table when it is lost and looted. It is still an obstacle to movement.


===

One could argue that you must make a disengagement move to stop looting (as you are as if in melee), but it seems clear from the tenor of the rules that any command will do - which presumably includes rally commands.
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé
Ramses II
Magister Militum


Inscrit le: 17 Juil 2015
Messages: 1248
Localisation: London
MessagePosté le: Ven Juil 18, 2025 1:36 pm    Sujet du message: Répondre en citant
DS is correct. The third no p66 says
Citation:
.
Before giving an order to a unit looting a camp its commander must roll a 4+ on 1D6. If this roll fails, no orders can be given and the unit continues looting the camp that turn.
So, there is no prohibition on the player dicing (4-6) to stop looting. If successful the player may then issue an order to the unit - or in this case not as he does not have sufficient CP to issue an order. In subsequent turns, the player need not dice again to stop looting, When he has sufficient CP he may issue an order to the unit. 
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé
KevinD
Légat


Inscrit le: 23 Aoû 2021
Messages: 675
Localisation: Texas
MessagePosté le: Ven Juil 18, 2025 2:01 pm    Sujet du message: Répondre en citant
Ramses I think you and DS disagree.

DS (and Steve Roper above more explicitly) say that you must issue the order the turn you roll the 4-6, you can’t roll it it turn X, “bank it†and then issue the order on turn X +1 without rolling again.
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé
Ramses II
Magister Militum


Inscrit le: 17 Juil 2015
Messages: 1248
Localisation: London
MessagePosté le: Ven Juil 18, 2025 4:00 pm    Sujet du message: Répondre en citant
My bad, didn’t read these posts properly. Embarassed  
That said, there doesn’t seem to be any restriction on testing to stop looting and banking the result.
Put another way, there doesn’t seem to be a constraint that forces the player to link a successful attempt to stop looting with an order to do something. 

Given the limited times this will happen and the ‘usual’ position at this point in a game, is this a major issue ?? Smile
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé
lionelrus
Magister Militum


Inscrit le: 21 Mar 2009
Messages: 4829
Localisation: paris
MessagePosté le: Ven Juil 18, 2025 5:17 pm    Sujet du message: Répondre en citant
"Put another way, there doesn’t seem to be a constraint that forces the player to link a successful attempt to stop looting with an order to do something".

That's the point. Once the looting stopped, it stopped. It won't resume unless an order is given to the unit.
_________________
"Quand on a pas de technique, faut y aller à la zob"
Perceval à Yvain et Gauvain.
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé
  
 Art De La Guerre Index du Forum > Rules question V4
Page 1 sur 2 Aller à la page 1, 2  Suivante
Poster un nouveau sujet   Répondre au sujet Toutes les heures sont au format GMT

 
Sauter vers:  
Vous ne pouvez pas poster de nouveaux sujets dans ce forum
Vous ne pouvez pas répondre aux sujets dans ce forum
Vous ne pouvez pas éditer vos messages dans ce forum
Vous ne pouvez pas supprimer vos messages dans ce forum
Vous ne pouvez pas voter dans les sondages de ce forum