Auteur |
Message |
Mark G Fry
Légat

Inscrit le: 15 Juin 2017 Messages: 588
Localisation: Bristol, UK
|
Posté le: Jeu Déc 05, 2024 10:09 am Sujet du message: Units in Ambush |
|
I was wondering about the restrictions on units in an ambush.
I have 2 ambush markers side by side in terrain that obscures vision (a Plantation).
I have a Corp of units that consists of:
6 x MF swd
1 x HC impact (with an included general)
1 x LF jav
Page 77 states that the units in the Ambush must be ultimately deployed in a 'valid group'. The definition of a 'Group' is defined on Page 10, however this states that for movement purposes a group cannot contain both Mounted & Foot units (with the exceptions of LF & Elephants).
As each Ambush marker can hold up to 4 units, in theory I could fit the entire command in ambush across the 2 markers.
The 1st marker is easy enough - that contains 4 of the MF swd.
The 2nd however, is more tricky, as that would have to contain the remaining 2 MF swd + the HC impact and the LF jav.
As the HC cannot move in the same movement group as the MF swd, does that make it an 'illegal formation' for Ambushing purposes, assuming that upon deployment all the other requirements for a 'legal formation' are met - e.g. facing in the same direction & in corner to corner contact?
So is a 'valid group' for Ambush purposes the same as a 'group' for movement?
Thanks
Mark _________________ 'He could have lived a risk-free, moneyed life, but he preferred to whittle away his fortune on warfare.' Xenophon, The Anabasis |
|
Revenir en haut de page |
|
|
SteveR
Signifer
Inscrit le: 21 Mar 2018 Messages: 381
|
Posté le: Jeu Déc 05, 2024 3:20 pm Sujet du message: |
|
In my opinion the group idea is the same. If it cannot move as a group, then it cannot be considered a valid group for ambush purposes.
To believe otherwise would imply a subtlety to the rules definition that does not seem to be their intent.
But I do like the idea of the 2 sword being in contact with the LI and then the LI in contact with the HC. So that although the overall group is not a group each of the sub components are - the LI providing a necessary bridge. It's still not legal in my opinion but gosh is it esthetic. |
|
Revenir en haut de page |
|
|
Ramses II
Magister Militum

Inscrit le: 17 Juil 2015 Messages: 1243
Localisation: London
|
Posté le: Jeu Déc 05, 2024 5:07 pm Sujet du message: |
|
Correct Steve. The HC cannot be contained in either ambush as it cannot be included in a valid group. |
|
Revenir en haut de page |
|
|
Mark G Fry
Légat

Inscrit le: 15 Juin 2017 Messages: 588
Localisation: Bristol, UK
|
Posté le: Jeu Déc 05, 2024 5:50 pm Sujet du message: |
|
I suspected that I was trying to be too subtle in my approach - and like Steve, I'd thought about using the LF as the 'bridge' between the MF and the HC impact
But it is not to be.
Good to have that clarified.
Thanks all
Mark _________________ 'He could have lived a risk-free, moneyed life, but he preferred to whittle away his fortune on warfare.' Xenophon, The Anabasis |
|
Revenir en haut de page |
|
|
MarkK
Archer
Inscrit le: 07 Nov 2024 Messages: 64
|
Posté le: Mar Déc 24, 2024 12:43 pm Sujet du message: |
|
Unless I'm missing something, can someone explain to me what is the point of an ambush? I mean if you have to place a marker on the table it isn't much of a surprise attack. So how do they work in ADLG, is it more of a case that I have some troops there, but you don't know what they are and you will have to expend resources to deal with it? |
|
Revenir en haut de page |
|
|
Mark G Fry
Légat

Inscrit le: 15 Juin 2017 Messages: 588
Localisation: Bristol, UK
|
Posté le: Mar Déc 24, 2024 4:36 pm Sujet du message: |
|
MarkK a écrit: | Unless I'm missing something, can someone explain to me what is the point of an ambush? I mean if you have to place a marker on the table it isn't much of a surprise attack. So how do they work in ADLG, is it more of a case that I have some troops there, but you don't know what they are and you will have to expend resources to deal with it? |
1). there might be up to 4 units in the ambush, or there might not. So you need to consider whether you try and counter the ambush or ignore it and take the risk (either way)
2). if you are the defender you can place troops in ambush up to the half-way line (in either of the outer thirds of the table) giving you an opportunity to deploy closer to the enemy
3). an ambush marker (even an empty one) will slow down an enemy advance - as you cannot move a 2nd or 3rd move if you are within 4 UD of an enemy marker
4). you can surprise your opponent. I have very successfully placed 4 Hvy Kn impact on the edge of a Village in ambush. An enemy has to get within 1 UD of an ambush marker in a village (or wood or plantation) to see what is in it & 'SURPRISE!' out jumps 4 Heavy Knights - nasty.
5). ambushes can be used strategically, so you can put 2 markers together (3 if you have a Strategist) and hide an entire Corps - or pretend that you have - whilst the actual Corps is flank marching. Confusing your opponent.
But I am sure other players can add to this list. But if you can place your ambush markers, it is always worth doing so, they are a 'free' aspect of the game, so should be a part of your deployment tactics.
Cheers
Mark _________________ 'He could have lived a risk-free, moneyed life, but he preferred to whittle away his fortune on warfare.' Xenophon, The Anabasis |
|
Revenir en haut de page |
|
|
Ramses II
Magister Militum

Inscrit le: 17 Juil 2015 Messages: 1243
Localisation: London
|
Posté le: Mar Déc 24, 2024 4:58 pm Sujet du message: |
|
As Mark Fry says, the point of an ambush is both to confuse the enemy and to gain a tactical / strategic advantage. This can be attempted in a variety of ways, for example, keeping up to four units off table in a flank march as well as an empty ambush - which way will the enemy manoeuvre ?? |
|
Revenir en haut de page |
|
|
MarkK
Archer
Inscrit le: 07 Nov 2024 Messages: 64
|
Posté le: Mer Déc 25, 2024 4:07 pm Sujet du message: |
|
Ok thanks chaps, that's how i understood it, not an ambush as such and more a ruse de guerre. point 3;
'an ambush marker (even an empty one) will slow down an enemy advance - as you cannot move a 2nd or 3rd move if you are within 4 UD of an enemy marker.'
Seems to be redundant in that case as the whole point of an ambush is you don't know it's there, so why would it interfere with you marching? If anything you want to catch them out the unexpected attack catching them in march formation. Poor old Varus could have saved himself a lot of trouble if that was the case.
But I take the point, it's more the act of a deception and can be used as a 'march blocker' to slow down an opponent. |
|
Revenir en haut de page |
|
|
Hazelbark
Magister Militum
Inscrit le: 12 Nov 2014 Messages: 1672
|
Posté le: Dim Jan 05, 2025 11:00 pm Sujet du message: |
|
MarkK a écrit: | Ok thanks chaps, that's how i understood it, not an ambush as such and more a ruse de guerre. point 3;
'an ambush marker (even an empty one) will slow down an enemy advance - as you cannot move a 2nd or 3rd move if you are within 4 UD of an enemy marker.'
Seems to be redundant in that case as the whole point of an ambush is you don't know it's there, so why would it interfere with you marching? If anything you want to catch them out the unexpected attack catching them in march formation. Poor old Varus could have saved himself a lot of trouble if that was the case.
But I take the point, it's more the act of a deception and can be used as a 'march blocker' to slow down an opponent. |
The challenge is to have a rule that adds variety, is not overly complicated, not a 'game winning move', possibly to play without an umpire. Ruse de Guerre is perhaps a fitting title.
I have encountered ambushes with troops that i would not think were there. I have encountered empty ambushes that ought to have troops, but didn't. Done both to others. Usually they force a player to be a bit cautious or slow. Helps cut down on the opening move that is so dramatic that it then tilts the outcome too severely. |
|
Revenir en haut de page |
|
|
|