Art De La Guerre
Bienvenue sur le forum de discussion de la règle de jeu l'Art De La Guerre
 
FAQFAQ RechercherRechercher Liste des MembresListe des Membres Groupes d'utilisateursGroupes d'utilisateurs S'enregistrerS'enregistrer
ProfilProfil Se connecter pour vérifier ses messages privésSe connecter pour vérifier ses messages privés ConnexionConnexion
General in melee and routed through?
Page 1 sur 2 Aller à la page 1, 2  Suivante
Poster un nouveau sujet   Répondre au sujet
 Art De La Guerre Index du Forum > Rules question V4
Auteur Message
Mark G Fry
Légat


Inscrit le: 15 Juin 2017
Messages: 617
Localisation: Bristol, UK
MessagePosté le: Mar Déc 02, 2025 1:21 pm    Sujet du message: General in melee and routed through? Répondre en citant
I suspect that this might be one of those - sequence of play things, but in a situation where a friendly (non-LF) unit routes through another friendly unit which has a general fighting with that unit this turn, does the general dice for the unit receiving a routed through casualty?

There are other factors to be taken into account, so it assumes that the general has not already had to dice for a similar risk that same turn.
It also assumes that the general is an intergral general, or that if he is an independant general, that he has been fighting in melee, with the routed through general, that turn.

Although, there might be another question around whether an independant general, fighting this turn with the unit he has attached himself to, but which has destroyed the unit it was fighting against, before the rout-through happens, still has to test for rout-through (if that is the case). As technically the routed through unit is no longer in combat and neither is the independant general.

If all that makes sense?
Thanks
_________________
'He could have lived a risk-free, moneyed life, but he preferred to whittle away his fortune on warfare.' Xenophon, The Anabasis
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé
KevinD
Tribun


Inscrit le: 23 Aoû 2021
Messages: 720
Localisation: Texas
MessagePosté le: Mar Déc 02, 2025 7:28 pm    Sujet du message: Répondre en citant
I think he takes the test. If he is in melee and takes a hit for any reason he must test.

If the general routed his opponent then he is no longer in melee and need not test. (I think.)
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé
Ramses II
Magister Militum


Inscrit le: 17 Juil 2015
Messages: 1295
Localisation: London
MessagePosté le: Mar Déc 02, 2025 11:56 pm    Sujet du message: Répondre en citant
Agreed Kevin. 
A unit with an attached (or integral) commander may sustain one or more hits. Irrespective of the number of hits, you dice once to see what happens to him at the end of the turn.  (P28)
  • If the unit to which the commander is engaged in combat loses cohesion for any reason, the opposing player rolls 1D6 and on a 1 the commander is eliminated
  • If the unit to which the commander is engaged in combat is Routed, the commander is eliminated on a result of 1, 2 or 3.
  • An engaged commander is only tested once per player’s sequence even if the unit he/she is included in, or attached to, loses more than one cohesion point. This test is made after all combats have been resolved, in the Rout and Pursuit phase.


The key criteria is whether the commander is attached to the unit when it suffers a hit. So an independent commander that ceases to be attached to a unit which has routed its opponent, does not test if the unit subsequently suffers a hit. 
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé
Mark G Fry
Légat


Inscrit le: 15 Juin 2017
Messages: 617
Localisation: Bristol, UK
MessagePosté le: Mer Déc 03, 2025 3:22 pm    Sujet du message: Répondre en citant
Thanks guys

So ... it is a timing or sequencing thing, as I suspected.

A). If the friendly routing unit, routes through the unit with its attached (not included) general, and that unit is not in combat at the end of the game turn (other than by being in simple support), does the general still test? The unit has still received a routed through disorder/casualty but it is not actually in combat.

B). In a case where the routed through unit (with its attached/integrated general) is still in active front-edge combat and it hasn't received a casualty from the unit it is actually fighting, then the routed through unit receives a casualty and the general must be dices for (regardless of whether he is attached or integral)?

C). If the routed through unit (with an attached general) destroys its opponent in combat, but it is routed through, surely as all actions take place simultaneously, the rout through occurred when the routed through unit was still in combat (or ... is it all dependent upon the fact that the test for the general occurs at the end of the move?)

D). Further complexity (sorry about this ... but it was a very complex melee). In this instance there was also a follow-up/pursuit involved.
So ... the unit that destroyed the 1st opposing unit, that then routed through its own friend behind it (the one with the included/integral general) then pursued into the flank of that unit. So there was a disorder/casualty for the rout-through and then another disorder caused by the 2nd opposing unit being hit in the flank whilst fighting to its front. Were we correct in the fact that the unit that was routed through received a disorder (casualty) from the rout-through plus an additional a casualty/disorder from being hit in the flank (as the two actions were different, and so the provision that a unit hit in the flank &/or rear more than once in the same game turn is exempt from multiple casualties/disorders - whereas a unit that is routed into by friends multiple times will receive multiple disorders/casualties; and neither cancels out the other)?

Again apologies if this all sounds a bit obtuse but it was a swirling and complex HF v Pike melee.
Thanks
Mark
_________________
'He could have lived a risk-free, moneyed life, but he preferred to whittle away his fortune on warfare.' Xenophon, The Anabasis
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé
Hazelbark
Magister Militum


Inscrit le: 12 Nov 2014
Messages: 1720
MessagePosté le: Mer Déc 03, 2025 4:56 pm    Sujet du message: Répondre en citant
To be clear you say routed through. You mean the p68 zone of routed units.

1) A general not in melee is not tested to be loss because the unit takes a cohesion.
2) A general of any type, engaged in combat is at risk if the unit he is with, takes a cohesion loss for any reason.
p28 4th bullet, the test is made after all other combats have been resolved.

Note FAQ
Only commander fighting with the main unit of a melee counts as Engaged in combat for CP purposes, combat bonus and risk of elimination. Commander with a unit in melee support is not Engaged in combat.


A-C Yes

D: A cohesion loss from a rout through is indeed distinct from a cohesion loss from fighting in multiple directions as a result of a pursuit. You are characterizing but not citing the specific rule of p61 last bullet under multiple attacks. Your characterization is not perfect. You only suffer the multiple attack loss once per turn. You may lose cohesion for other resaons in addition.
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé
Neep
Signifer


Inscrit le: 09 Jan 2023
Messages: 385
MessagePosté le: Ven Déc 05, 2025 9:59 pm    Sujet du message: Répondre en citant
I believe the answer is that you do not roll until 1) the unit is routed OR 2) all current routs are resolved.
Of course, at least in theory, the roll could cause your unit to rout and set off another chain of routs, so the order of testing would be a choice on your part.

Mark, a general is at risk if they are included and in combat, or if they are attached and engaged in combat. A general is engaged in combat when declared to be engaged in combat until one or the other unit disengages, or routs. Routing is a process and the general remains engaged until the full resolution of the Rout and Pursuit phase.

The engaged general will only make one test regardless of how many cohesion hits were taken during the turn, after all current Rout and Pursuits have been resolved. If the unit to which they are attached has not been routed, they are eliminated on a roll of 1. If included, then the unit must be substituted or marked to indicate the general is no longer present. If it is routed, then they are eliminated if they are included. If attached they are eliminated with a roll of 1-3, otherwise they flee and are possibly captured. The difference between captured and eliminated is simply narrative color or a campaign game consideration.

Thus, your questions A-D all have the same answer - roll once after all current routs have been resolved. On a 1 the general is eliminated. (If attached to a unit, that unit will take another cohesion hit, and if routed will restart the Rout and Pursuit phase.) If the unit to which they were attached to has routed, then the general is also eliminated on a 2 or 3 and otherwise must flee with the possibility then of capture.

(In case D, the unit will take two cohesion hits from two different causes.)

***

I got to thinking about the timing of the elimination rolls especially vis a vis pursuit and have some more observations.

Some principles base on avoiding complications:
The rout elimination roll should take precedence over the hit elimination roll because you only make one roll and it's a wheeze to avoid the more severe rout roll by making a hit roll prematurely.
Rout rolls should occur before pursuits because the pursuit might change the landscape and narratively you want your leader to flee from the pursuit not after it.
Note the preamble on page 69. Pursuits only apply to routs caused by melee results. Routs caused by rout/rampage cascade, multiple attacks, or leader loss during the Rout and Pursuit phase do not trigger additional pursuits.

so:
0. Initially and throughout the process note any (of the three Very Happy) commanders who should face rout or hit rolls.
1. Note the potential pursuits due to melee routs.
2. Remove routed units, cascade additional routs caused by rout/rampage-through hits.
3. At this point make rout rolls for affected commanders and resolve elimination, capture, or flight. (Attached but unengaged commanders will flee.)
4. Now conduct Pursuits and apply any Multiple Attack hits. (Note that Pursuit order matters. You can pursue into the potential pursuit path of another unit.)
5. Cascade any rout results.
6. Make and resolve rout rolls for affected commanders.
7. Now you can make the hit rolls for affected commanders, but it becomes a little tricky. Commander elimination causes a cohesion hit, which might trigger a rout cascade, which might change a hit roll to a rout roll for another commander. Okay, to dodge the deserved grumbling, yeah maybe it's a 1 in 100,000 game event. Still, it's good to have an airtight procedure. Thus I suggest make all the hit rolls first. Apply any hits and repeat steps 5-7 as needed.


Dernière édition par Neep le Mar Déc 09, 2025 8:13 pm; édité 4 fois
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé
Zoltan
Légat


Inscrit le: 18 Jan 2015
Messages: 535
Localisation: Wellington, New Zealand
MessagePosté le: Dim Déc 07, 2025 7:34 am    Sujet du message: Répondre en citant
I've found this a rather confusing discussion, so just to be clear:

A unit with an included commander is NOT in melee.

However, a friendly unit just got routed and the included commander's unit is within the rout zone, so takes a cohesion hit (p68).

Is there a test for killing the commander?
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé
KevinD
Tribun


Inscrit le: 23 Aoû 2021
Messages: 720
Localisation: Texas
MessagePosté le: Dim Déc 07, 2025 3:31 pm    Sujet du message: Répondre en citant
No test if the unit including the commander is not in melee.
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé
Zoltan
Légat


Inscrit le: 18 Jan 2015
Messages: 535
Localisation: Wellington, New Zealand
MessagePosté le: Dim Déc 07, 2025 8:47 pm    Sujet du message: Répondre en citant
So:

a. included commander, unit not in melee
If his unit routs (for any reason) - no test: commander is automatically lost (p28).

b. attached commander, unit not in melee
If his unit routs - no test: commander must flee to any friend within 5UD, otherwise he is automatically lost (p28).

c. There is only ever a test for commander loss if that commander's unit is (still) in melee.

d. At the start of the Rout and Pursuit Phase, a unit that has accumulated its maximum number of cohesion points is, well, routed. Ipso facto it is no longer in combat and its (former) opponent's commander is therefore no longer in melee - so no test (per c above).
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé
KevinD
Tribun


Inscrit le: 23 Aoû 2021
Messages: 720
Localisation: Texas
MessagePosté le: Dim Déc 07, 2025 10:37 pm    Sujet du message: Répondre en citant
Per point d above.

No, if the commander is engaged and the unit routs, then the commander is lost on a 1-3. See bullet #3, p 28.
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé
Zoltan
Légat


Inscrit le: 18 Jan 2015
Messages: 535
Localisation: Wellington, New Zealand
MessagePosté le: Dim Déc 07, 2025 11:38 pm    Sujet du message: Répondre en citant
KevinD a écrit:
Per point d above.

No, if the commander is engaged and the unit routs, then the commander is lost on a 1-3. See bullet #3, p 28.


My point d explained in detail:

My unit is in melee with yours.
My commander is fighting (either because he is included or my attached commander has elected to engage in combat).
My unit wins the melee and inflicts the final cohesion point on your unit required to rout your unit.
The Combat Phase now ends and we move to the Rout and Pursuit Phase.
My unit's friend has also been routed.
My unit is in the "rout zone" of it's routed friend.
My unit takes a cohesion hit because of its routing friend.
My unit has NOT reached its maximum cohesion hits (and is not routed).
My commander (regardless of being included or attached) does NOT test to die; at this point in time his unit is NOT in combat (and has not been routed).
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé
Neep
Signifer


Inscrit le: 09 Jan 2023
Messages: 385
MessagePosté le: Lun Déc 08, 2025 12:00 am    Sujet du message: Répondre en citant
It's open to interpretation, but I think it's better to consider "engaged in combat" holds throughout the Rout and Pursuit phase rather than ends when the opposing unit is lifted from the table. It keeps things simpler. I don't think there are any choices to optimize, but it might give players pause.
Two examples:
Your attached commander is hit front and flank by the enemy. You declare engagement and rout the enemy main unit. But you have received a Multiple Attack cohesion hit. Do you skip the test because the main unit was routed?
Your attached general is engaged with an opponent down to 1 hit left. Unfortunately, a 1:6 leaves you both with one hit left. Then a nearby elephant rampages through you both. Now what?
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé
Ramses II
Magister Militum


Inscrit le: 17 Juil 2015
Messages: 1295
Localisation: London
MessagePosté le: Lun Déc 08, 2025 1:05 am    Sujet du message: Répondre en citant
KevinD a écrit:
Per point d above. No, if the commander is engaged and the unit routs, then the commander is lost on a 1-3. See bullet #3, p 28.
Totally correct. 

Sorry Zoltan, there is no ‘timing issue’ here. The key point is whether the commander is attached / included when the unit loses its last cohesion point (and is routed). The timing of checking the commander is purely a game mechanic. 
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé
Zoltan
Légat


Inscrit le: 18 Jan 2015
Messages: 535
Localisation: Wellington, New Zealand
MessagePosté le: Lun Déc 08, 2025 2:23 am    Sujet du message: Répondre en citant
Ramses II a écrit:
KevinD a écrit:
Per point d above. No, if the commander is engaged and the unit routs, then the commander is lost on a 1-3. See bullet #3, p 28.
Totally correct. 

Sorry Zoltan, there is no ‘timing issue’ here. The key point is whether the commander is attached / included when the unit loses its last cohesion point (and is routed). The timing of checking the commander is purely a game mechanic. 


I feel Gavin and Ramses are misreading my text (maybe I need to be clearer). In my example d, THE UNIT WITH THE COMMANDER HAS NOT BEEN ROUTED - it has simply taken a cohesion hit (perhaps its first) FROM ITS ROUTING FRIEND. This cohesion hit will be allocated during the Rout and Pursuit Phase when it is established that the commander's unit is in the "rout zone" of its routing friend.

Does the unit with the commander (THAT HAS NOT BEEN ROUTED) make a test IF IT ALSO ROUTED ITS OWN OPPONENT in the Combat Phase?

The commander's unit WAS in combat during the Combat Phase but has not received a cohesion hit until the Rout and Pursuit Phase. Is the commander's unit still considered to be "in combat" while the Rout and Pursuit Phase is being completed?
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé
KevinD
Tribun


Inscrit le: 23 Aoû 2021
Messages: 720
Localisation: Texas
MessagePosté le: Lun Déc 08, 2025 3:11 am    Sujet du message: Répondre en citant
I perfectly understand your point an out timing. It is irrelevant.

If you were in melee during the melee phase and your commander was either included or engaged, you must test if you take a. Hit during the rout phase (on a 1-3 if last hit, otherwise on a 1).
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé
  
 Art De La Guerre Index du Forum > Rules question V4
Page 1 sur 2 Aller à la page 1, 2  Suivante
Poster un nouveau sujet   Répondre au sujet Toutes les heures sont au format GMT

 
Sauter vers:  
Vous ne pouvez pas poster de nouveaux sujets dans ce forum
Vous ne pouvez pas répondre aux sujets dans ce forum
Vous ne pouvez pas éditer vos messages dans ce forum
Vous ne pouvez pas supprimer vos messages dans ce forum
Vous ne pouvez pas voter dans les sondages de ce forum