| Auteur |
Message |
ecnomus
Barbare
Inscrit le: 30 Juin 2015 Messages: 29
|
Posté le: Lun Nov 24, 2025 2:11 pm Sujet du message: Question about AMBUSHES exactly on the edge of a terrain. |
|
Hi people. I have a question you to clarify.
Suppose ambush marker#1 is placed exactly on the edge of a village. In that ambush we have a hidden MI X unit. Outside the town and exactly 1 UD away, there is an enemy MI A unit.
It is the turn of the player who discovers the ambush and proceeds as follows:
He reveals his ambushed MI X and advance exactly 1 UD.
The rulebook states that ambushes must be completely inside the terrain that blocks visibility (page 70). It also states that a unit positioned right on the edge is considered to be in the terrain and benefits from cover. From this, we understand that it is possible to place an ambush marker right on the edge of a terrain.
The question is: since it is indicated that the ambush marker must be completely inside the terrain (even if it is on the exact edge), when revealing the ambush, and if the MI X unit moves exactly 1 UD.
Can that unit completely leave the terrain and not receive any penalty for doing so while fighting the enemey MI (I refer to fighting in difficult terrain)?
The enemy MI A is exactly 1 UD away from the terrain, therefore MI X cannot advance more than 1 UD.
Is that enough to leave the terrain completely? Does it fight without the difficult terrain penalty?
Thanks in advance. _________________ Ecnomus |
|
| Revenir en haut de page |
|
|
Andy Fyfe
Légionaire
Inscrit le: 14 Fév 2024 Messages: 140
|
Posté le: Lun Nov 24, 2025 2:51 pm Sujet du message: |
|
| ecnomus a écrit: | Hi people. I have a question you to clarify.
Suppose ambush marker#1 is placed exactly on the edge of a village. In that ambush we have a hidden MI X unit. Outside the town and exactly 1 UD away, there is an enemy MI A unit.
It is the turn of the player who discovers the ambush and proceeds as follows:
He reveals his ambushed MI X and advance exactly 1 UD.
The rulebook states that ambushes must be completely inside the terrain that blocks visibility (page 70). It also states that a unit positioned right on the edge is considered to be in the terrain and benefits from cover. From this, we understand that it is possible to place an ambush marker right on the edge of a terrain.
The question is: since it is indicated that the ambush marker must be completely inside the terrain (even if it is on the exact edge), when revealing the ambush, and if the MI X unit moves exactly 1 UD.
Can that unit completely leave the terrain and not receive any penalty for doing so while fighting the enemey MI (I refer to fighting in difficult terrain)?
The enemy MI A is exactly 1 UD away from the terrain, therefore MI X cannot advance more than 1 UD.
Is that enough to leave the terrain completely? Does it fight without the difficult terrain penalty?
Thanks in advance. |
Yes; the MI which was in ambush has exactly enough room to leave the terrain and not be penalised by it.
It will have to contact (i.e. charge) the other MI in order to do this.
Andy |
|
| Revenir en haut de page |
|
|
Neep
Signifer
Inscrit le: 09 Jan 2023 Messages: 380
|
Posté le: Lun Nov 24, 2025 5:10 pm Sujet du message: |
|
A unit is "in" the terrain if any part (i.e. area) of the base is enclosed by the terrain.
A unit is penalized if it is "in" the terrain, or if it "attacks" across the edge of a more penalizing terrain.
It is undefined whether the edge must cover the full width of the defender or only partially.
"Attack" is undefined. Obviously if you charge an enemy you are the attacker. But in the unlikely event that you win a combat and then turn to face a melee support who is situated just at the edge of terrain, it's not obvious.
But if your back edge just on the edge of penalizing terrain, you are not penalized. Unless you are a WWg... |
|
| Revenir en haut de page |
|
|
Ramses II
Magister Militum

Inscrit le: 17 Juil 2015 Messages: 1289
Localisation: London
|
Posté le: Mar Nov 25, 2025 12:10 pm Sujet du message: |
|
No Andy, there is not enough space for a 1UD base to fit in the gap which is less than 1UD, the distance at which the ambush is revealed.
Consequently as Neep says, if the ambushing unit advances into contact, some part of the ambushing MI must remain on the village and consequently will be fighting in difficult terrain.Â
However if it stays put, and the enemy MI advances into contact, then they would both be fighting in difficult terrain.Â
(See revealing an ambush)
| Citation: | An ambush is automatically revealed if: Â - An enemy unit approaches within one UD of the
marker. Â
- An enemy has a clear line of sight to the marker.
An ambush behind a hill is revealed if the
enemy's line of sight is not blocked by a horizon
line or crest line (see p 71). Â
- A friendly unit passes through the marker (p 39).
When a unit reaches a position to discover an
ambush or comes within one UD of the marker, it
must stop its movement. |
|
|
| Revenir en haut de page |
|
|
ecnomus
Barbare
Inscrit le: 30 Juin 2015 Messages: 29
|
Posté le: Mar Nov 25, 2025 1:03 pm Sujet du message: |
|
| Ramses II a écrit: | No Andy, there is not enough space for a 1UD base to fit in the gap which is less than 1UD, the distance at which the ambush is revealed.
Consequently as Neep says, if the ambushing unit advances into contact, some part of the ambushing MI must remain on the village and consequently will be fighting in difficult terrain.Â
However if it stays put, and the enemy MI advances into contact, then they would both be fighting in difficult terrain.Â
(See revealing an ambush)
| Citation: | An ambush is automatically revealed if: Â - An enemy unit approaches within one UD of the
marker. Â
- An enemy has a clear line of sight to the marker.
An ambush behind a hill is revealed if the
enemy's line of sight is not blocked by a horizon
line or crest line (see p 71). Â
- A friendly unit passes through the marker (p 39).
When a unit reaches a position to discover an
ambush or comes within one UD of the marker, it
must stop its movement. |
|
Hi Ramses, I think I don’t quite understand your answer, or maybe it doesn’t exactly address the question I raised.
First, it’s necessary for me to know whether an ambush marker can be placed exactly on the edge of a terrain piece.
If that’s possible, then the question I’m asking is whether, if an MI unit (from the ambush marker) moves out of the terrain exactly one UD, it ends up completely outside the terrain or not.
Conceptually, it’s on the boundary on the side of the open, should we consider that being right on the edge of the terrain is equivalent to being inside the terrain? And therefore the unit must fight with a negative modifier?
Thanks for your answers !! _________________ Ecnomus |
|
| Revenir en haut de page |
|
|
Andy Fyfe
Légionaire
Inscrit le: 14 Fév 2024 Messages: 140
|
Posté le: Mar Nov 25, 2025 2:14 pm Sujet du message: |
|
| Ramses II a écrit: | No Andy, there is not enough space for a 1UD base to fit in the gap which is less than 1UD, the distance at which the ambush is revealed.
Consequently as Neep says, if the ambushing unit advances into contact, some part of the ambushing MI must remain on the village and consequently will be fighting in difficult terrain.Â
However if it stays put, and the enemy MI advances into contact, then they would both be fighting in difficult terrain.Â
(See revealing an ambush)
| Citation: | An ambush is automatically revealed if: Â - An enemy unit approaches within one UD of the
marker. Â
- An enemy has a clear line of sight to the marker.
An ambush behind a hill is revealed if the
enemy's line of sight is not blocked by a horizon
line or crest line (see p 71). Â
- A friendly unit passes through the marker (p 39).
When a unit reaches a position to discover an
ambush or comes within one UD of the marker, it
must stop its movement. |
|
Hi Ramses II,
From Dan's postings in the below forum question:
https://www.artdelaguerre.fr/adlg/v3/forum/viewtopic.php?t=10398&postdays=0&postorder=asc&start=15
Dan stated:
Thank you for the reminder
The Official confirmed ruling is:
The unit may no longer move if the ambush contains a unit when it is revealed at 1 UD.
'At 1 UD' not 'within 1 UD'.
Andy |
|
| Revenir en haut de page |
|
|
Ramses II
Magister Militum

Inscrit le: 17 Juil 2015 Messages: 1289
Localisation: London
|
Posté le: Mar Nov 25, 2025 7:00 pm Sujet du message: |
|
Hmm. I am only too human and have a fallible memory.
If this is indeed official, then there ought to be an errata as it clearly contradicts the rules as written.Â
There are two situations here;
- Voluntarily revealing the ambush at some point during the opponent’s movement phase, when the moving unit(s) may continue moving, but not into contact with the ambushing unitÂ
- Forcing the opponent to reveal the ambush by moving unit(s) into proximity with the ambush. Here the moving unit(s) must stop if the ambush is real.
I will check with Dan and El Kreator what is intended, though stopping ’at’ 1UD seems to be contrary to other sections of the rules, as it would prevent some shooting, spontaneous charges etc, |
|
| Revenir en haut de page |
|
|
Neep
Signifer
Inscrit le: 09 Jan 2023 Messages: 380
|
Posté le: Mar Nov 25, 2025 9:43 pm Sujet du message: |
|
If I understand Ecnomus correctly, they are asking a very simple question that has nothing to do with ambushes, per se.
If MI, having a depth of 1UD, at the very edge of a terrain feature advances 1UD forward, is it out of the terrain?
The answer of course is yes it is out of the terrain. |
|
| Revenir en haut de page |
|
|
Andy Fyfe
Légionaire
Inscrit le: 14 Fév 2024 Messages: 140
|
Posté le: Mer Nov 26, 2025 8:48 am Sujet du message: |
|
| Ramses II a écrit: | Hmm. I am only too human and have a fallible memory.
If this is indeed official, then there ought to be an errata as it clearly contradicts the rules as written.Â
There are two situations here;
- Voluntarily revealing the ambush at some point during the opponent’s movement phase, when the moving unit(s) may continue moving, but not into contact with the ambushing unitÂ
- Forcing the opponent to reveal the ambush by moving unit(s) into proximity with the ambush. Here the moving unit(s) must stop if the ambush is real.
I will check with Dan and El Kreator what is intended, though stopping ’at’ 1UD seems to be contrary to other sections of the rules, as it would prevent some shooting, spontaneous charges etc, |
No problem at all Ramses II.
I have asked for the errata to be updated as I have seen this ruled and played both ways.
Andy |
|
| Revenir en haut de page |
|
|
Mike Bennett
Légat
Inscrit le: 11 Nov 2017 Messages: 608
Localisation: Carnforth, Lancashire, UK
|
Posté le: Mer Nov 26, 2025 9:12 am Sujet du message: |
|
It is different for rectangularly shaped, straight edged “man made terrain†like fields and villages. You can exactly line the perfectly straight edge. As a result you can exactly leave with a 1ud move.
For irregular terrain, there is no straight edge, and so you cannot perfectly line the irregular edge. As you must be fully inside some part of the rear edge will be more than 1 UD from some part of the terrain edge. As a result the units rear edge is unable to fully leave with a move of exactly 1ud |
|
| Revenir en haut de page |
|
|
Dickstick
Tribun
Inscrit le: 17 Juil 2016 Messages: 743
Localisation: West Bromwich
|
Posté le: Mer Nov 26, 2025 9:14 am Sujet du message: |
|
Using properly shaped terrain avoids most of these issues _________________ Player 747 don't call me Jumbo |
|
| Revenir en haut de page |
|
|
ecnomus
Barbare
Inscrit le: 30 Juin 2015 Messages: 29
|
Posté le: Mer Nov 26, 2025 10:24 am Sujet du message: |
|
| Neep a écrit: | If I understand Ecnomus correctly, they are asking a very simple question that has nothing to do with ambushes, per se.
If MI, having a depth of 1UD, at the very edge of a terrain feature advances 1UD forward, is it out of the terrain?
The answer of course is yes it is out of the terrain. |
Hi Neep.
Yes, this is the question I need an answer to. However, we must consider that this MI unit moves from an ambush marker placed on the edge of the terrain. Some players in Spain have told me that the ambush marker must be completely inside the terrain, so for them, placing it right on the edge means the MI does not have enough space when moving exactly one UD to contact the enemy without being considered in difficult terrain.
Do you agree with them? Or do you think that to move 1 UD is enough to reach open terrain and be considered 100% in open terrain?
Thanks. _________________ Ecnomus |
|
| Revenir en haut de page |
|
|
ecnomus
Barbare
Inscrit le: 30 Juin 2015 Messages: 29
|
Posté le: Mer Nov 26, 2025 10:29 am Sujet du message: |
|
| Mike Bennett a écrit: | It is different for rectangularly shaped, straight edged “man made terrain†like fields and villages. You can exactly line the perfectly straight edge. As a result you can exactly leave with a 1ud move.
For irregular terrain, there is no straight edge, and so you cannot perfectly line the irregular edge. As you must be fully inside some part of the rear edge will be more than 1 UD from some part of the terrain edge. As a result the units rear edge is unable to fully leave with a move of exactly 1ud |
Thanks, Mike. Of course the question was about straight edged terrains (like a village or a riverbank). Terrain with irregular edges is a different issue. _________________ Ecnomus |
|
| Revenir en haut de page |
|
|
Andy Fyfe
Légionaire
Inscrit le: 14 Fév 2024 Messages: 140
|
Posté le: Mer Nov 26, 2025 12:04 pm Sujet du message: |
|
| ecnomus a écrit: | | Mike Bennett a écrit: | It is different for rectangularly shaped, straight edged “man made terrain†like fields and villages. You can exactly line the perfectly straight edge. As a result you can exactly leave with a 1ud move.
For irregular terrain, there is no straight edge, and so you cannot perfectly line the irregular edge. As you must be fully inside some part of the rear edge will be more than 1 UD from some part of the terrain edge. As a result the units rear edge is unable to fully leave with a move of exactly 1ud |
Thanks, Mike. Of course the question was about straight edged terrains (like a village or a riverbank). Terrain with irregular edges is a different issue. |
I suspect that the question about the use of 'within' in the rules is a translation issue between French and English.
For example. if the French text uses the word 'dans' then this can be translated as 'within' or more usually as 'in'.
This results in a completely different English interpretation:
An ambush marker must be entirely within the terrain that blocks visibility
An ambush marker must be entirely in the terrain that blocks visibility
Andy |
|
| Revenir en haut de page |
|
|
Dickstick
Tribun
Inscrit le: 17 Juil 2016 Messages: 743
Localisation: West Bromwich
|
Posté le: Mer Nov 26, 2025 1:50 pm Sujet du message: |
|
I see and hear no difference Andy.
Can you explain what you think the difference in English is? _________________ Player 747 don't call me Jumbo |
|
| Revenir en haut de page |
|
|
|