Art De La Guerre
Bienvenue sur le forum de discussion de la règle de jeu l'Art De La Guerre
 
FAQFAQ RechercherRechercher Liste des MembresListe des Membres Groupes d'utilisateursGroupes d'utilisateurs S'enregistrerS'enregistrer
ProfilProfil Se connecter pour vérifier ses messages privésSe connecter pour vérifier ses messages privés ConnexionConnexion
Stopping looting
Page 1 sur 1
Poster un nouveau sujet   Répondre au sujet
 Art De La Guerre Index du Forum > Rules question V4
Auteur Message
KevinD
Légat


Inscrit le: 23 Aoû 2021
Messages: 664
Localisation: Texas
MessagePosté le: Ven Juin 13, 2025 5:52 pm    Sujet du message: Stopping looting Répondre en citant
1. If a general is in combat and rolls a 1 so can’t issue any orders to have his troops make any moves, can his troops roll to stop looting?

2. If you are looting a camp, roll a 4-6 to stop, but don’t then move them so remain in contact with the camp, are you still looting and need to roll a 4-6 to leave in the future?


Dernière édition par KevinD le Sam Juin 14, 2025 6:20 am; édité 1 fois
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé
Neep
Signifer


Inscrit le: 09 Jan 2023
Messages: 316
MessagePosté le: Ven Juin 13, 2025 6:27 pm    Sujet du message: Répondre en citant
I read it as: roll to accept orders -> accept orders -> stop looting
So even a zero cost rally would stop looting. (Although it brings up the question of whether you can rally if you have no cohesion hits.)
But no order, looting continues.
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé
Neep
Signifer


Inscrit le: 09 Jan 2023
Messages: 316
MessagePosté le: Ven Juin 13, 2025 9:08 pm    Sujet du message: Répondre en citant
So if you are less than 4UD from the enemy camp, can you rally for free at 3-6?
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé
SteveR
Signifer


Inscrit le: 21 Mar 2018
Messages: 381
MessagePosté le: Sam Juin 14, 2025 2:19 pm    Sujet du message: Répondre en citant
Huh? Sure he can roll. It wont do anything but if you want to see if you can roll a 4-6 who am I to stop you. Just say you are retroactively rolling for a water way

To be clear, the roll of 4-6 is to be able to issue an order to stop looting.

If you make that roll you may then issue an order.

If you fail that roll you may not

Under any circumstances if an order to stop looting is not given you do not stop looting. This is because you have not been ordered to stop looting.

I don't think you can "bank" the roll of 4-6 for use on a later turn.

Comprehensive?

(and I don't see where rallying has anything to do with this.)
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé
Neep
Signifer


Inscrit le: 09 Jan 2023
Messages: 316
MessagePosté le: Sam Juin 14, 2025 2:24 pm    Sujet du message: Répondre en citant
Rallying is an order.

The question about the effect of an (unlooted) camp is just a side track.
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé
Andy Fyfe
Auxiliaire


Inscrit le: 14 Fév 2024
Messages: 89
MessagePosté le: Lun Juin 16, 2025 9:33 pm    Sujet du message: Répondre en citant
Neep a écrit:
Rallying is an order.

The question about the effect of an (unlooted) camp is just a side track.


A unit looting the camp is considered to be in melee so does not qualify for the 'free' 3+ rally.
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé
Neep
Signifer


Inscrit le: 09 Jan 2023
Messages: 316
MessagePosté le: Lun Juin 16, 2025 11:53 pm    Sujet du message: Répondre en citant
I would argue that it's more than 4UD from all enemies and it's not in melee "with an enemy". but clearly we are in coin toss territory. Very Happy

Nice catch BTW.
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé
Dickstick
Tribun


Inscrit le: 17 Juil 2016
Messages: 724
Localisation: West Bromwich
MessagePosté le: Mer Juin 18, 2025 8:40 am    Sujet du message: Répondre en citant
The baggage is an enemy so in contact is within 4 ud.

Or are we looting friendly baggage now?
_________________
Player 747 don't call me Jumbo
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé
Neep
Signifer


Inscrit le: 09 Jan 2023
Messages: 316
MessagePosté le: Mer Juin 18, 2025 2:42 pm    Sujet du message: Répondre en citant
Once the baggage is successfully looted, it becomes an impassible bit of terrain. Except you are still in melee with it, which prevents your impetuous units from making uncontrolled charges (and being shot at?). That leaves the question of whether you can rally for 0CP moot because while you are in melee, you are not in melee with an enemy unit (page 55).
Now if the baggage is unlooted, it is "treated as an enemy unit" - page 66. But does that make it an enemy unit for the purpose of rallying, page 55? I suppose it does, though I'm always wary of treating the preambles as bullet points. Note that the first bullet (page 66) is pointless as you cannot make a 2d or 3d move within 4UD (page 34). The second bullet is either making an exception for impetuous mounted to treat fortified camps as "behind a fortification" or making an exception for impetuous foot to not treat fortified camps as "behind a fortification". Do looting units flee a flank march?

Nitpicking, I know... Very Happy
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé
  
 Art De La Guerre Index du Forum > Rules question V4
Page 1 sur 1
Poster un nouveau sujet   Répondre au sujet Toutes les heures sont au format GMT

 
Sauter vers:  
Vous ne pouvez pas poster de nouveaux sujets dans ce forum
Vous ne pouvez pas répondre aux sujets dans ce forum
Vous ne pouvez pas éditer vos messages dans ce forum
Vous ne pouvez pas supprimer vos messages dans ce forum
Vous ne pouvez pas voter dans les sondages de ce forum