Art De La Guerre
Bienvenue sur le forum de discussion de la règle de jeu l'Art De La Guerre
 
FAQFAQ RechercherRechercher Liste des MembresListe des Membres Groupes d'utilisateursGroupes d'utilisateurs S'enregistrerS'enregistrer
ProfilProfil Se connecter pour vérifier ses messages privésSe connecter pour vérifier ses messages privés ConnexionConnexion
Charge and spontaneous charge in the FAQ page 10
Page 1 sur 1
Poster un nouveau sujet   Répondre au sujet
 Art De La Guerre Index du Forum > Rules questions
Auteur Message
MC_Delicatessen
Frondeur


Inscrit le: 30 Juil 2020
Messages: 7
MessagePosté le: Mer Nov 04, 2020 12:01 am    Sujet du message: Charge and spontaneous charge in the FAQ page 10 Répondre en citant
I have two questions about this, one about group charge and one about spontaneous group charge...

Group charge
- In the diagram, FAQ pg10 #3, cav1 and cav2 are within charge distance, charge and then conform. Cav3 and cav4 can move up to their max distance with the group - can they orientate with cav1 and cav2 or do they have to stay in the direction of the charge?

Spontaneous group charge
- Different scenario, cav1 and cav2 are within one UD of enemies, cav3 is not with one UD. They are a group with common frontage. The group charge FAQ says "only those units that are within charge range will be able to contact the enemy" - it does not specify spontaneous charge range. And the spontaneous charge FAQ says "The spontaneous charge follows the same rules as the classic charge.". I am in a death spiral wondering...Can cav3 spontaneously charge with the group and contact at over one UD for free - no pips?

(And by extension if you had a group of 6 units charging a diagonal enemy, in theory the units on the end could spontaneously charge as part of the group for free at 3+ UDs?)
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé
Zoltan
Prétorien


Inscrit le: 18 Jan 2015
Messages: 274
Localisation: Wellington, New Zealand
MessagePosté le: Mer Nov 18, 2020 4:11 am    Sujet du message: Répondre en citant
MC_Delicatessen a écrit:
I have two questions about this, one about group charge and one about spontaneous group charge...

Group charge
- In the diagram, FAQ pg10 #3, cav1 and cav2 are within charge distance, charge and then conform. Cav3 and cav4 can move up to their max distance with the group - can they orientate with cav1 and cav2 or do they have to stay in the direction of the charge?

This is answered in the FAQ when you work through the several bullet points and sentences:
- if Cav 3 and 4 are NOT impetuous, they can stop on line 1, stop on line 2, or stop somewhere between lines 1 and 2 (player's choice)
- if Cav 3 and 4 ARE impetuous, they MUST move their maximum charge up to line 2
- in all cases, "stop on the line" means just that - no change in orientation from the direction charged


Spontaneous group charge
- Different scenario, cav1 and cav2 are within one UD of enemies, cav3 is not with one UD. They are a group with common frontage. The group charge FAQ says "only those units that are within charge range will be able to contact the enemy" - it does not specify spontaneous charge range. And the spontaneous charge FAQ says "The spontaneous charge follows the same rules as the classic charge.". I am in a death spiral wondering...Can cav3 spontaneously charge with the group and contact at over one UD for free - no pips?

The group charge FAQ is simply saying that while all units can charge forward as a group, not all units may be able to contact an enemy if there is no enemy within a particular charging unit's charge range. A group just needs 1 of its member units to be within 1 UD of an enemy straight ahead for the whole group to take advantage of the spontaneous charge rule.

(And by extension if you had a group of 6 units charging a diagonal enemy, in theory the units on the end could spontaneously charge as part of the group for free at 3+ UDs?)

Yes, as long as just one of the 6 units in a group is entitled to make a spontaneous charge (enemy within 1 UD directly ahead) the whole group can participate in that charge move regardless of the starting distance between the charging "end units" and any enemy units, or indeed there being NO contactable enemy units in front of the end units.
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé
MC_Delicatessen
Frondeur


Inscrit le: 30 Juil 2020
Messages: 7
MessagePosté le: Lun Nov 23, 2020 10:53 am    Sujet du message: Répondre en citant
Zoltan a écrit:
MC_Delicatessen a écrit:
I have two questions about this, one about group charge and one about spontaneous group charge...

Group charge
- In the diagram, FAQ pg10 #3, cav1 and cav2 are within charge distance, charge and then conform. Cav3 and cav4 can move up to their max distance with the group - can they orientate with cav1 and cav2 or do they have to stay in the direction of the charge?

This is answered in the FAQ when you work through the several bullet points and sentences:
- if Cav 3 and 4 are NOT impetuous, they can stop on line 1, stop on line 2, or stop somewhere between lines 1 and 2 (player's choice)
- if Cav 3 and 4 ARE impetuous, they MUST move their maximum charge up to line 2
- in all cases, "stop on the line" means just that - no change in orientation from the direction charged


Spontaneous group charge
- Different scenario, cav1 and cav2 are within one UD of enemies, cav3 is not with one UD. They are a group with common frontage. The group charge FAQ says "only those units that are within charge range will be able to contact the enemy" - it does not specify spontaneous charge range. And the spontaneous charge FAQ says "The spontaneous charge follows the same rules as the classic charge.". I am in a death spiral wondering...Can cav3 spontaneously charge with the group and contact at over one UD for free - no pips?

The group charge FAQ is simply saying that while all units can charge forward as a group, not all units may be able to contact an enemy if there is no enemy within a particular charging unit's charge range. A group just needs 1 of its member units to be within 1 UD of an enemy straight ahead for the whole group to take advantage of the spontaneous charge rule.

(And by extension if you had a group of 6 units charging a diagonal enemy, in theory the units on the end could spontaneously charge as part of the group for free at 3+ UDs?)

Yes, as long as just one of the 6 units in a group is entitled to make a spontaneous charge (enemy within 1 UD directly ahead) the whole group can participate in that charge move regardless of the starting distance between the charging "end units" and any enemy units, or indeed there being NO contactable enemy units in front of the end units.


Brilliant, thanks
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé
  
 Art De La Guerre Index du Forum > Rules questions
Page 1 sur 1
Poster un nouveau sujet   Répondre au sujet Toutes les heures sont au format GMT

 
Sauter vers:  
Vous ne pouvez pas poster de nouveaux sujets dans ce forum
Vous ne pouvez pas répondre aux sujets dans ce forum
Vous ne pouvez pas éditer vos messages dans ce forum
Vous ne pouvez pas supprimer vos messages dans ce forum
Vous ne pouvez pas voter dans les sondages de ce forum